Sharjah Champions' Trophy


At Sharjah, October 19. Pakistan won by 34 runs. Toss: India. Pakistan qualified for the final, leaving India to play West Indies a second time to decide who their opponents would be. Pakistan lost Ramiz in Sanjeev Sharma's first over, but on a pitch lacking pace they were given the substance of a winning total by the deft placement and swift running of Salim Malik and Miandad, the latter sweeping the spin bowlers with impunity. India's batsmen were full of strokes - but as often as not the ball went to a fieldsman. Vengsarkar's 51 took 71 balls and exemplified the problem his team had in wresting control from Pakistan's accurate bowling.

Man of the Match: Salim Malik.

© John Wisden & Co