Nehru Cup


At Margao, October 25. Australia won by 28 runs. Toss: Australia. Jones (101 balls) and Aravinda de Silva (107 balls) shared the batting honours, each hitting two sixes and seven fours. However, whereas De Silva's 92-minute 96 was virtually all Sri Lanka had to offer, Jones followed a sound start by Marsh and Boon and, Labrooy apart, Sri Lanka's bowlers presented few problems as he laid the cornerstone of the Australian innings. There was a time when it looked as if Tillekeratne might lend De Silva the support he needed, but O'Donnell broke their stand of 63, and his three wickets swept aside Sri Lanka's hopes of springing another upset.

Man of the Match: P. A. de Silva.

© John Wisden & Co