Nehru Cup


At Bangalore, October 27. India won by three wickets. Toss: Australia. A crowd of more than 50,000 carried India to the win that put them alongside England at the top of the qualifying table. Ajay Sharma was their hero. He took three wickets with his left-arm spin bowling, including those of Jones and Border just when Australia looked capable of building a commanding position, and later he hit three sixes in his 32 while re-establishing India's reply following the loss of Vengsarkar and Azharuddin. The job was finished by Chetan Sharma and Prabhakar, who put on 40 in an unbroken eighth-wicket partnership, with Chetan winning the match by swinging O'Donnell over mid-wicket for six. Just as Boon had given Australia a flying start, scoring all but 10 of their first-wicket 59, so Srikkanth and Lamba set India on the way with a century stand. Both fell to Matthews, who was playing his first and only match after replacing the injured May.

Man of the Match: Ajay Sharma.

© John Wisden & Co