The 139th edition carried a long tribute to the greatest batsman of them all, Don Bradman. He had actually died while the previous year's Almanack was at the printers, too late for inclusion, but was given his due this time - in addition to a lengthy obituary, there were tributes from Gideon Haigh and Richard Holt, and one from beyond the grave by Jim Swanton. Yorkshire's first County Championship for 31 years was duly celebrated by the MP Roy Hattersley, while Simon Hughes looked at the possible advance of technology within cricket. The Five Cricketers of the Year were all overseas players: Adam Gilchrist, Jason Gillespie and Damien Martyn of the Australian side that won the Ashes in England once again, Zimbabwe's Andy Flower, and VVS Laxman, whose phenomenal 281 at Kolkata helped India beat the Aussies after following on.
Editor Graeme Wright
Pages 1632
Price £35