The Almanack reflected on a year of experiments to try to reduce the number of drawn matches. Larger wickets were used in Championship matches, and the leg-before-wicket law was amended so that thin edges were ignored if the ball would have gone on to hit the stumps anyway. Nottinghamshire won the Championship for the first time in 23 years, while 43-year-old Frank Woolley hammered 11 hundreds and scored 2894 runs at 56.08 for Kent. The Five Cricketers included Tuppy Owen-Smith who played cricket for South Africa in 1929 and later captained England at rugby.
Editor C Stewart Caine
Pages 1059
Price 5/- (soft) / 7/6 (cloth)