Appropriately enough, cricket's largest personality, the retired Shane Warne, was chosen as the cover star for the 2007 edition. Another spinner, Sri Lanka's Muttiah Muralitharan, was chosen as the world's leading cricketer. Matthew Engel and 16 writers and historians also looked back retrospectively at who might have won the award - now in its fourth year - from 1900 to 2004, with Sir Donald Bradman coming out on top. Paul Collingwood, Monty Panesar, Mark Ramprakash, Mohammad Yousuf and Mahela Jayawardene were named as the five Cricketers of the Year, while England's lamentable Ashes performance - "the baggy greenwash" - received lengthy dissection and condemnation. 2006's experimental large-format edition was also continued.
Editor Matthew Engel
Pages 1664
Price £40