Final, Sri Lanka v India

Indian Oil Cup, 2005

Tony Cozier

At R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo, August 9, 2005 (day/night). Sri Lanka won by 18 runs. Toss: Sri Lanka.

Without any pretence of objectivity and scant regard for the crowd's feelings, the sponsors' flags decorating the entrance to the stadium proclaimed "India All The Way" - but IndianOil's representative was nonetheless obliged to present the trophy to Sri Lanka in the end. Pursuing the highest total of the tournament, India were given a rousing start by Sehwag, who smashed 4, 4, 6, 4, 4, 4 off the sixth over, from Dilhara. They were cruising at 186 for two when Yuvraj was out in the 36th over, and that dismissal turned the game. Dravid was run out 19 runs later, and the next five wickets tumbled for 30, to the noisy jubilation of the 22,000 capacity crowd. Sri Lanka quickly gained control batting first on a humid afternoon, through Arnold and the impressive Jayawardene. But they struggled at the beginning - losing three wickets for 67 - and end of the innings, managing only 35 off the last five overs as Nehra claimed six wickets, although his analysis was spoiled somewhat when Vaas collected three fours from his last four balls. Jayasuriya's 67 included his 10,000th run in one-day internationals, making him the fourth club member after Sachin Tendulkar, Inzamam-ul-Haq and Ganguly, who had joined six days earlier.

Man of the Match: D. P. M. D. Jayawardene.

Man of the Series: D. P. M. D. Jayawardene.

© John Wisden & Co.