There were three Australians among the Five Cricketers of the Year, which reflected another one-sided Ashes series in England. One of the chosen ones, Stuart Law, couldn't even get into the Test side - he was honoured for his exploits with Essex. But Matthew Elliott and Glenn McGrath played a big part as Australia won the Test series 3-1. The Five was completed by Matthew Maynard and Graham Thorpe. Elsewhere, Wisden revealed that Graham Gooch had now scored more runs in senior cricket - first-class and one-day matches - than Jack Hobbs, and Geoffrey Moorhouse reassessed the legend of WG Grace - "Champion and rotter".
Editor Matthew Engel
Pages 1648
Price £27.50