Auckland v West Indians

New Zealand v West Indies 2008-09

At Eden Park Outer Oval, Auckland, December 5, 6, 7, 2008. Drawn. Toss: Auckland. Auckland 587-7 dec. (T. G. McIntosh 78, R. A. Jones 201, R. A. Young 61, G. J. Hopkins 103*, K. D. Mills 50, J. A. Raval 31; F. H. Edwards 3-125); West Indians 431-6 (S. Chattergoon 93, X. M. Marshall 47, R. R. Sarwan 158 retired hurt, D. Ramdin 37*).

Auckland's captain Richard Jones batted for 401 minutes, facing 330 balls and hitting 26 fours and three sixes in his maiden double-century; he put on 223 with Tim McIntosh and 135 with Reece Young. Sarwan, who resigned the tourists' vice-captaincy shortly before the match (Ramdin took on the role), hit 23 fours and two sixes from 198 balls before retiring.

© John Wisden & Co.