First Twenty20

Pakistan v New Zealand, 2009-10

At Dubai, November 12, 2009 (floodlit). Pakistan won by 49 runs. Toss: New Zealand. Twenty20 international debut: B. J. Watling.

Pakistan reinforced their standing as Twenty20 kings with an emphatic victory as the action shifted to the Dubai Sports City stadium. Imran Nazir kick-started their innings, lacing successive balls from Butler over long-on and long-off for six, then going after him again, collecting two fours and another six in his next over. A late burst from Abdul Razzaq propelled the total to 161, and New Zealand were never in the hunt once Brendon McCullum (captaining in place of Vettori, resting after being hit on the head in the second 50-over game) sliced to backward point. New Zealand were also without the injured Franklin and Mills, while Oram had returned home on paternity leave, and were further handicapped when Redmond was unable to bat after straining his groin while bowling.

Man of the Match: Imran Nazir.

© John Wisden & Co.