Deccan Chargers v Royal Challengers Bangalore

Indian Premier League, 2008-09

Nagraj Gollapudi

At Cape Town, April 22, 2009 (floodlit). Deccan Chargers won by 24 runs. Toss: Deccan Chargers. Deccan Chargers 184-6 (20 overs) (A. C. Gilchrist 71, R. G. Sharma 52); Royal Challengers Bangalore 160-8 (20 overs) (R. Dravid 48, V. Kohli 50; S. B. Styris 3-32). Deccan Chargers 2 pts. Man of the Match: A. C. Gilchrist.

Blazing innings from Gilchrist (45 balls, five sixes, six fours) and Rohit Sharma (30 balls, five sixes) set an imposing target for Bangalore, who were already out of it when they tottered to 64-4 at halfway, with Pietersen gone for 11. Dravid and Kohli reduced the margin, but it was too late.

© John Wisden & Co.