Deccan Chargers v Rajasthan Royals

Indian Premier League, 2008-09

Nagraj Gollapudi

At Port Elizabeth, May 2, 2009. Rajasthan Royals won by three wickets. Toss: Deccan Chargers. Deccan Chargers 141-5 (20 overs) (A. C. Gilchrist 39, R. G. Sharma 38, T. L. Suman 41*); Rajasthan Royals 142-7 (19.4 overs) (L. A. Carseldine 39, A. S. Raut 36*). Rajasthan Royals 2 pts. Man of the Match: Y. K. Pathan.

Two unsung Indians, Tirumalasetti Suman and Abhishek Raut, excelled in a see-saw battle. Suman top-scored for the Chargers with 41* from 30 balls and, after Yusuf Pathan had blasted 24 from 14 balls, Raut kept his nerve to ensure Rajasthan collected the 11 runs they needed from the last two overs.

© John Wisden & Co.