Chennai Super Kings v Delhi Daredevils

Indian Premier League, 2008-09

Nagraj Gollapudi

At Johannesburg, May 2, 2009 (floodlit). Chennai Super Kings won by 18 runs. Toss: Delhi Daredevils. Chennai Super Kings 163 (20 overs) (M. L. Hayden 30, S. K. Raina 32, S. Badrinath 45; D. P. Nannes 3-27, A. Nehra 3-27); Delhi Daredevils 145-8 (20 overs) (D. A. Warner 51, K. D. Karthik 52; S. B. Jakati 4-24). Chennai Super Kings 2 pts. Man of the Match: S. B. Jakati.

Delhi looked likelier winners when they needed 36 from the last 26 balls with seven wickets left, but Dhoni cannily kept the spinners on: Muralitharan (4-0-22-1) and the Goan slow left-armer Shadab Jakati throttled the batsmen.

© John Wisden & Co.