Mumbai Indians v Royal Challengers Bangalore

Indian Premier League, 2008-09

Nagraj Gollapudi

At Johannesburg, May 3, 2009 (floodlit). Royal Challengers Bangalore won by nine wickets. Toss: Mumbai Indians. Mumbai Indians 149-4 (20 overs) (S. T. Jayasuriya 52, D. J. Bravo 50*; D. du Preez 3-32); Royal Challengers Bangalore 150-1 (18.1 overs) (J. H. Kallis 69*, R. V. Uthappa 66*). Royal Challengers Bangalore 2 pts. Man of the Match: J. H. Kallis.

Bangalore continued their recovery, breezing to their third successive victory thanks mainly to Kallis, one of the disappointments of the first IPL, and Uthappa, who had looked miserable in the first half of this one. They put on 126* in 15.1 overs, hitting 13 fours and four sixes between them.

© John Wisden & Co.