Deccan Chargers v Mumbai Indians

Indian Premier League, 2008-09

Nagraj Gollapudi

At Centurion, May 6, 2009 (floodlit). Deccan Chargers won by 19 runs. Toss: Deccan Chargers. Deccan Chargers 145-6 (20 overs) (R. G. Sharma 38); Mumbai Indians 126-8 (20 overs) (J-P. Duminy 52; R. G. Sharma 4-6). Deccan Chargers 2 pts. Man of the Match: R. G. Sharma.

The victory which ended the Chargers' three-match losing streak looked certain from the moment R. P. Singh (4-0-19-2) dismissed Jayasuriya and Tendulkar with successive balls in the second over of Mumbai's reply. Duminy worked hard for a half-century, but any lingering hopes were killed off by Rohit Sharma's part-time off-breaks, which brought him four wickets in five balls, including a hat-trick.

© John Wisden & Co.