Deccan Chargers v Rajasthan Royals

Indian Premier League, 2008-09

Nagraj Gollapudi

At Kimberley, May 11, 2009 (floodlit). Deccan Chargers won by 53 runs. Toss: Deccan Chargers. Deccan Chargers 166-7 (20 overs) (A. Symonds 30, D. R. Smith 47; Y. K. Pathan 3-34); Rajasthan Royals 113 (19.3 overs) (S. A. Asnodkar 44; R. G. Sharma 3-12). Deccan Chargers 2 pts. Man of the Match: D. R. Smith.

The Chargers completed their biggest victory in terms of runs thanks to significant contributions from two of their lower-key overseas signings: Dwayne Smith smashed four sixes (but no fours) from 32 balls to lift the total, then Chaminda Vaas, playing his first game of the tournament, bowled with great nous (if at a sedate pace) for 4-0-19-2 as Rajasthan were throttled early on.

© John Wisden & Co.