Royal Challengers Bangalore v Kolkata Knight Riders

Indian Premier League, 2008-09

Nagraj Gollapudi

At Centurion, May 12, 2009. Royal Challengers Bangalore won by six wickets. Toss: Royal Challengers Bangalore. Kolkata Knight Riders 173-4 (20 overs) (B. B. McCullum 84*, D. J. Hussey 43); Royal Challengers Bangalore 176-4 (19.2 overs) (J. H. Kallis 32, L. R. P. L. Taylor 81*). Royal Challengers Bangalore 2 pts. Man of the Match: L. R. P. L. Taylor.

McCullum batted through the innings, hitting ten fours and two sixes from 64 balls, and was helped by David Hussey's 27-ball blitz in setting up a daunting total: but still Kolkata couldn't win, as Ross Taylor hammered 81 from just 33 balls, with seven fours and five sixes of his own. It meant that the IPL's most glamorous franchise, could not now reach the semi-finals.

© John Wisden & Co.