Deccan Chargers v Kolkata Knight Riders

Indian Premier League, 2008-09

Nagraj Gollapudi

At Johannesburg, May 16, 2009 (floodlit). Deccan Chargers won by six wickets. Toss: Deccan Chargers. Kolkata Knight Riders 160-5 (20 overs) (S. C. Ganguly 33, B. J. Hodge 48, D. J. Hussey 43); Deccan Chargers 166-4 (20 overs) (A. C. Gilchrist 43, T. L. Suman 31, R. G. Sharma 32*). Deccan Chargers 2 pts. Man of the Match: R. G. Sharma.

David Hussey did not arrive until the end of the 15th over, but he hammered 43 from 17 balls with four sixes to propel Kolkata to a big total; however, his sparkling display was trumped by the nerveless Rohit Sharma. Deccan needed 21 from the last over, bowled by Bangladesh's Mashrafe bin Mortaza, and Sharma got them. The first delivery was called a no-ball as there were only three fielders inside the circle: Sharma hit it for four. Three balls later he clouted a huge six over midwicket, then a wide, a two and a four left the scores level as the final ball was bowled: Sharma joyously pulled it for six.

© John Wisden & Co.