Chennai Super Kings v Deccan Chargers

Indian Premier League, 2009-10

Nagraj Gollapudi

At Chennai, March 14, 2010. Deccan Chargers won by 31 runs. ‡Deccan Chargers 190-4 (20 overs) (A. C. Gilchrist 38, H. H. Gibbs 45, A. Symonds 50); Chennai Super Kings 159-9 (20 overs) (M. S. Dhoni 42, J. A. Morkel 42*; W. P. U. J. C. Vaas 3-21). MoM: W. P. U. J. C. Vaas.

The old hands carved out an easy win: Adam Gilchrist batted like a speeding bullet (38 from 17 balls), Herschelle Gibbs and Andrew Symonds strengthened the foundation, then Chaminda Vaas's gentle swing accounted for Chennai's top order.

© John Wisden & Co.