Mumbai Indians v Royal Challengers Bangalore, 1st semi-final

Indian Premier League, 2009-10

Nagraj Gollapudi

At Dr D. Y. Patil Sports Academy, Mumbai, April 21, 2010. Mumbai Indians won by 35 runs. ‡Mumbai Indians 184-5 (20 overs) (A. T. Rayudu 40, S. S. Tiwary 52*, K. A. Pollard 33*); Royal Challengers Bangalore 149-9 (20 overs) (L. R. P. L. Taylor 31*; K. A. Pollard 3-17). MoM: K. A. Pollard.

Two big fellas - Saurabh Tiwary and Kieron Pollard - played the axemen to slay the Bangalore bowlers with a mixture of brute force and clever placement, plundering 77 in the final five overs after only 26 had come in the previous five. Bangalore lost their big hitters Pietersen and Uthappa by halfway, and Ross Taylor couldn't rescue them on his own as Mumbai reached the final for the first time.

© John Wisden & Co.