India v Pakistan

Asia Cup, 2010

Sa'adi Thawfeeq

At Dambulla, June 19, 2010 (day/night). India won by three wickets. ‡Pakistan 267 (49.3 overs) (Salman Butt 74, Shoaib Malik 39, Shahid Afridi 32, Kamran Akmal 51; P. Kumar 3-53); India 271-7 (49.5 overs) (G. Gambhir 83, M. S. Dhoni 56, S. K. Raina 34; Saeed Ajmal 3-56). India 4pts. MoM: G. Gambhir.

India won a seesaw battle with a ball to spare to clinch their place in the final, and render the two remaining group games meaningless. India looked sure to win while Gambhir and Dhoni were putting on 98, but they slipped from 180-2 to 219-6. They eventually needed 16 from the last two overs with four wickets standing: Suresh Raina eased the pressure by smashing Shoaib Akhtar for six, then was run out in the final over with six still needed - but Harbhajan Singh hoisted the fifth ball of Mohammad Aamer's last over into the crowd at midwicket. Virender Sehwag injured his hamstring during his innings of ten and missed the rest of the tournament.

© John Wisden & Co.