Only T20I

West Indies v India in West Indies, 2011

Tony Cozier

At Port-of-Spain, Trinidad, June 4, 2011. India won by 16 runs. Toss: West Indies. international debuts: S. Badrinath, S. Dhawan, P. A. Patel.

Experience gained in the IPL, which had finished just seven days earlier, was evident in India's clear-cut victory. After they had lost four early wickets, Badrinath - caught off a Rampaul no-ball on 25 and lucky to survive a stumping appeal on 36 - and Sharma saw off Sammy, who finished with four for 16, before steering them to respectability. Pathan and Harbhajan Singh then finished with a flourish, cracking 25 from the last 11 balls. Watched in the stands by Chris Gayle, their persona non grata ex-skipper now wearing a cap emblazoned with the word "captain", West Indies were then held in check. Simmons was unlucky to be given out, caught at slip after the ball deflected off wicketkeeper Patel's helmet; replays also suggested the absence of an edge. And once Bravo and Samuels fell in three balls to Harbhajan, the outcome was settled. Three late sixes from Christopher Barnwell electrified a sizeable crowd, but it was not enough to deny the well-drilled Indians.

Man of the Match: S. Badrinath.

© John Wisden & Co.