ICC Awards, 2007 August 28, 2007

Nominees announced for Women's Cricketer of the Year

Cricinfo staff

Karen Rolton was the first winner of the ICC Women's Cricketer of the Year award, in 2007 © Getty Images

The ICC Women's Cricketer of the Year award will have a new name on it after Karen Rolton did not make the shortlist. Rolton, Australia's captain, was the first winner of the award which was introduced last October.

Her team-mates Lisa Sthalekar and Shelley Nitschke are Australia's nominations. With each full member country allowed to put forward two names, England have selected Claire Taylor and Holly Colvin, while Jhulan Goswami and Rumeli Dhar are India's representatives.

Maria Fahey and Rebecca Rolls have been chosen by New Zealand. Ashlyn Kilowan and Johmari Logtenberg are South Africa's choices. Urooj Mumtaz Khan and Sajida Shah are in the running for Pakistan. Ireland will be represented by Caitriona Beggs.

The list has been voted upon by an academy of 17 leading former players and influential figures in the women's game, including the media. The shortlist will be announced in due course ahead of the awards ceremony which takes place in South Africa in September.