SA v SL, 3rd women's T20, Potchefstroom

Du Preez, Loubser hand SA series

ESPNcricinfo staff

November 4, 2013

Text size: A | A

South Africa Women 111 for 5 (du Preez 43, Siriwardene 4-21) beat Sri Lanka Women 109 for 6 (Kaushalya 50) by 5 wickets

Sri Lanka's Eshani Kaushalya scored a quick 56, India v Sri Lanka, Women's World Cup 2013, Group A, Mumbai, February 5, 2013.
File photo - Eshani Kaushalya's reviving fifty went in vain for Sri Lanka © ICC/Solaris Images

Despite four wickets from Sri Lanka captain Shashikala Siriwardene, South Africa Women were able to wage on and complete their chase of 109 with 10 balls to spare, giving them a 2-1 series win.

Sri Lanka batted first and were in some trouble as the top three batsmen perished with just 13 on the board in the fifth over. Siriwardene and Sripali Weerakkody put on an integral 21-run partnership, before Siriwardene batted on with Eshani Kaushalya to get Sri Lanka past 100. Siriwardene eventually fell for 25, with the score on 104 in the 19th over. Kaushalya's effort helped Sri Lanka to a modest score, as the team reached 109 for 6. Kaushalya was dismissed for 50 off 34 balls, which included seven fours and one six.

The South African chase started harmlessly enough as they pushed on to 28 for 1 in the sixth over. The innings then got tricky as Siriwardene came on to bowl and plucked out four wickets in the space of 24 balls, with the addition of just 18 runs to the board. At a precarious 46 for 5, it was up to captain Mignon du Preez and Sunette Loubser to guide the chase. Both held on to their nerve and finished off the chase, as du Preez finished not out on 43, while Loubser hammered two sixes in her unbeaten 37. Du Preez was named Player of the Series for her 66 runs from three innings at an average of 33.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Fixtures Results
1st ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 9, 2015 ()
2nd ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 11, 2015 ()
3rd ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 13, 2015 ()
1st T20I: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 15, 2015 ()
2nd T20I: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 16, 2015 ()
Complete fixtures »