Pakistan v Ireland, PCB Qatar Women's 50-over Tri-Series

All-round Pakistan Women stay unbeaten

ESPNcricinfo staff

January 13, 2014

Comments: 4 | Text size: A | A

Pakistan Women 93 for 3 (Javeria 51*, Tice 3-31) beat Ireland Women 92 (Joyce 36*, Mir 3-11) by seven wickets

Pakistan Women made lighter work of their target of 93 against Ireland Women in Doha, than they had done chasing 126 against South Africa Women on Sunday. While that chase went into the final over and had six Pakistan wickets going down, here Pakistan eased to a seven-wicket win in 26 overs. While Pakistan were missing their anchor from the South Africa game, Bismah Maroof, opener Javeria Khan did the job for them here, finishing 51 not out.

The loss means Ireland, in order to make the final, will have to beat South Africa, and then hope Pakistan do the same.

After Ireland chose to bat, none of their batsmen could make any contribution of note. Only opener Clare Shillington and No. 5 Isobel Joyce got into double digits - Joyce was left not out on 36 off 104 when Ireland were bowled out in the 49th over. Pakistan captain Sana Mir finished with the best figures of the bowlers, claiming 3 for 11 with her legspin.

In the chase, while some of Pakistan's top order failed to finish the small chase off after getting starts, Javeria's innings made sure the team got home with plenty to spare.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (January 15, 2014, 5:06 GMT)

they will lose to sure of it

Posted by Crick_Expert on (January 14, 2014, 12:39 GMT)

CONGRAT.......keep up good job. Pak fan from USA

Posted by   on (January 14, 2014, 6:23 GMT)

Bravo! COngrats to our cricket team. Keep it up! We are backing you all!

Posted by aliasad106 on (January 14, 2014, 0:51 GMT)

wow... Congratulations team Pakistan ! !

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Related Links
Fixtures Results
1st ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 9, 2015 ()
2nd ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 11, 2015 ()
3rd ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 13, 2015 ()
1st T20I: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 15, 2015 ()
2nd T20I: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 16, 2015 ()
Complete fixtures »