ICC World Twenty20 2010 March 31, 2010

Chandimal, Perera in Sri Lanka's World T20 squad

Cricinfo staff

Promising wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Chandimal is the only uncapped player in Sri Lanka's 15-member squad for the ICC World Twenty20. Kumar Sangakkara will lead their campaign in the West Indies, and Muttiah Muralitharan will be his deputy.

Chandimal, 20, has risen in prominence in recent times and has a batting average of 31.62 in 17 domestic Twenty20 matches. He scored a century for Ruhuna last week, against Basnahira North in the SLC inter-provincial tournament.

Allrounder Thissara Perera, who has played six ODIs, has also been included in the squad. Dilhara Fernando, Kaushalya Weeraratne and Muthumudalige Pushpakumara were axed from the side that contested the two-match Twenty20 series against India in December.

Sri Lanka play New Zealand in the tournament's opening match on April 30, and Zimbabwe on May 3.

Squad: Kumar Sangakkara (capt), Muttiah Muralitharan (vice-capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Thissara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekera, Suraj Randiv, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga, Chanaka Welagedara, Chamara Kapugedara, Sanath Jayasuriya, Chinthaka Jayasinghe.