Zimbabwe history

At a domestic level, inter-provincial cricket has been played for the Logan Cup since 1903-04, but it is only since Zimbabwe attained Test status that it has been possible to organise it as a first-class competition. Since the late 1960s Mashonaland - basically Harare - has had at times almost a monopoly of the top players, making true inter-provincial competition difficult.

In 2005-06 the competition did not take place, it being impossible to stage against a backdrop of internal strife - both inside the game and the country as a whole. It was relaunched in 2006-07 with the traditional provinces replaced by new bodies, set up by the board in an attempt to quell internal dissent. Kenya were invited to take part on a one-off basis.


Year Winner
1993-94 Mashonaland Under-24
1994-95 Mashonaland
1995-96 Matabeleland
1996-97 Mashonaland
1997-98 Mashonaland
1998-99 Matabeleland
1999-00 Mashonaland
2000-01 Mashonaland
2001-02 Mashonaland
2002-03 Mashonaland
2003-04 Mashonaland
2004-05 Mashonaland
2005-06 No competiton
2006-07 Easterns
2007-08 Northerns
2008-09 Easterns (Zimbabwe)
2009-10 Mashonaland Eagles
2010-11 Matabeleland Tuskers
2011-12 Matabeleland Tuskers
2012-13 Matabeleland Tuskers

Inter-Provincial One-Day Competition

Year Winner
2002-03 Mashonaland
2003-04 Mashonaland
2004-05 Matabeleland
2005-06 Matabeleland
2006-07 Northerns
2008 Easterns
2008-09 Easterns
2009-10 Mountaineers
2010-11 Southern Rocks
2011-12 Mashonaland Eagles
2012-13 Mashonaland Eagles

Inter-Provincial Twenty20 Competition

Year Winner
2007-08 Easterns
2008-09 Westerns
2009-10 Mountaineers
2010-11 Mashonaland Eagles
2011-12 Mountaineers
2012-13 Mountaineers

News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days