Carl Hooper, Mal Loye, Iain Sutcliffe and John Wood were all awarded their county caps by Sir Dennis Landau, Lancashire's president, during a ceremony at Old Trafford.

All four players have had outstanding seasons, with three of them finishing their debut seasons at Lancashire, with the exception of John Wood, who completes his second.

Jack Simmons MBE, Lancashire's chairman, said: "Lancashire holds its traditions dearly, like the capping ceremony, and will hopefully continue with them for many years to come." He continued: "It is always pleasing to award county caps, and after such an exciting season as 2003 has been, it is an especial pleasure to see these talented players being recognised in this way. I would like to offer the club's and my congratulations to all of them."