Jodie Fields will lead Australia Women in the Rose Bowl series against New Zealand, while Alyssa Healy, Ellyse Perry and Julie Hunter return to the squad. The Australia's Women's National Selection Panel (WNSP) announced a 14-player squad that will take on the visiting New Zealand side in three ODIs and five Twenty20s, starting January 20.

Alex Blackwell will be Fields' deputy for the series. Perry was out of the squad last season due to football commitments, while Hunter had an injured shoulder and Healy was out because of indifferent form.

"Alyssa Healy, Ellyse Perry and Julie Hunter all return to the squad, while Shelley Nitschke, Sharon Millanta and Annie-Rose Maloney are the players out of the team," WNSP head Julie Savage said. "Shelley has retired from cricket while Annie-Rose and Sharon make way for the experienced combination of Ellyse and Julie."

The WNSP that selected the squad was recently shuffled. Chaired by Julie Savage, it also includes women's coach Richard McInnes, captain Fields and former Australia bowler Julie Hayes.

Squad: Jodie Fields (capt), Alex Blackwell (vice-capt), Jess Cameron, Sarah Coyte, Rachael Haynes, Alyssa Healy, Julie Hunter, Jessica Jonassen, Meg Lanning, Erin Osborne, Ellyse Perry, Leah Poulton, Clea Smith, Lisa Sthalekar