Three teams will progress to the 2014 Women's World Twenty20 from the Qualifiers after the ICC announced a revised schedule for the tournament, which begins in Dublin on July 23.

According the previous format, only the winner of the qualifying competition would progress to the 2014 finals, but following a decision made at the ICC annual conference in London last month, the runner-up and the winner of the playoff for third place will also qualify for the tournament in Bangladesh, taking the total number of participants to ten.

As a result of the changed qualification structure, the originally intended Super Four stage will be replaced with two semi-finals.

The ICC said the decision to expand the qualification process was part of a continued promotion and support of women's cricket, with the recently announced event cycle including four World T20 events and two World Cups between 2015 and 2023.

The three teams from the Qualifiers will join Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, South Africa and West Indies for the World T20, which begins on March 16 and will take place alongside the men's event.

Canada, Ireland, Japan, Netherlands, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Zimbabwe are the eight teams participating in the Qualifiers.