The drop
On a track with good bounce and carry, the slip fielders were expected to come into play early. Yusuf Pathan at first slip was in the thick of things in the first over itself, when a slash from Dwayne Smith off Pat Cummins' bowling came straight to him. Yusuf raised his arms over his head to collect the ball but it got through him and Smith, who was on nought, managed to get off the mark. Fortunately for Yusuf, Smith scored only 20 before falling in the fourth over.

The stumping
Manvinder Bisla had played just one game in IPL 2014 but made an impact while replacing Robin Uthappa for this game. In the 13th over, a delivery from Piyush Chawla sneaked between Faf du Plessis' bat and pad and Bisla was alert to the fact that the batsman had overbalanced and raised his foot in the air for a bit. He whipped off the bails and the umpire ruled in the fielding side's favour, reducing Super Kings to a shaky 86 for 4.

The line call
In the over before Du Plessis' stumping, there was another close call for Super Kings, which was eventually ruled in favour of Knight Riders. Sunil Narine appealed for an lbw against Suresh Raina after the batsman missed a late cut and was struck on the pad. On-field umpire Kumar Dharmasena gave Raina out but when the third umpire was brought in to check for a no-ball, it seemed as if Narine's heel was in the air but possibly in front of the crease. It looked tight, and the third-umpire ruled Raina out.

The bowling change
A typical Knight Riders innings is always high on drama and Super Kings added a few moments of their own to the mix. Ashish Nehra took two in two to leave Knight Riders gasping at 10 for 2. Mohit Sharma then began his run-up to start the third over but MS Dhoni stopped him and asked him to give the ball to Ishwar Pandey. The umpire said to Dhoni that Mohit would have to continue, having begun his run-up, and by the end of the first ball, Dhoni might have had a word of thanks for the official. Yusuf Pathan poked at an outswinger and du Plessis was only too happy to take the catch at slip.

Rachna Shetty is a senior sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo