1st ODI, South Africa tour of India at Kolkata, Nov 10 1991
(47/47 ov)
(40.4/47 ov, target 178)
India won by 3 wickets (with 38 balls remaining)
Player Of The Match
South Africa
South Africa Innings (47 overs maximum)
SJ Cook lbw b Srinath1748-0035.41
AC Hudson c †More b Kapil Dev03-000.00
KC Wessels  b Tendulkar5095-3052.63
PN Kirsten  b Raju729-0024.13
AP Kuiper c Amre b Prabhakar4364-3167.18
CEB Rice (c) b Prabhakar1423-1060.86
RP Snell c Amre b Kapil Dev1613-00123.07
BM McMillan run out24-0050.00
DJ Richardson not out44-00100.00
TG Shaw not out00-00-
Extras(lb 13, w 11)24
TOTAL(47 Ov, RR: 3.76)177/8
Did not bat: AA Donald 
Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Andrew Hudson), 2-28 (Jimmy Cook), 3-49 (Peter Kirsten), 4-109 (Kepler Wessels), 5-151 (Adrian Kuiper), 6-156 (Clive Rice), 7-167 (Brian McMillan), 8-176 (Richard Snell)
N Kapil Dev922322.55---00
M Prabhakar1012622.60---00
J Srinath1003913.90---00
SLV Raju1003213.20---00
RJ Shastri301705.66---00
SR Tendulkar502715.40---00
India Innings (target: 178 runs from 47 overs)
RJ Shastri c †Richardson b Donald05-000.00
NS Sidhu c McMillan b Donald614-0042.85
SV Manjrekar  b Donald110-0010.00
SR Tendulkar c Snell b Donald6273-8184.93
M Azharuddin (c)st †Richardson b Shaw1621-1076.19
PK Amre lbw b Donald5574-8174.32
N Kapil Dev  b Kuiper1130-0036.66
M Prabhakar not out1218-0066.66
KS More not out03-000.00
Extras(lb 2, nb 2, w 11)15
TOTAL(40.4 Ov, RR: 4.37)178/7
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Ravi Shastri), 2-3 (Sanjay Manjrekar), 3-20 (Navjot Sidhu), 4-60 (Mohammad Azharuddin), 5-116 (Sachin Tendulkar), 6-148 (Kapil Dev), 7-177 (Pravin Amre)
AA Donald8.402953.34---00
RP Snell603505.83---00
BM McMillan603005.00---00
TG Shaw1004614.60---00
CEB Rice501402.80---00
AP Kuiper502214.40---00
Eden Gardens, Kolkata
TossIndia , elected to field first
SeriesSouth Africa tour of India
Player Of The Match
Allan Donald
Sachin Tendulkar
Series resultIndia led the 3-match series 1-0
Match numberODI no. 686
Match days10 November 1991 (50-over match)
ODI debut
Pravin Amre
Jimmy Cook
Andrew Hudson
Peter Kirsten
Adrian Kuiper
Clive Rice
Richard Snell
Brian McMillan
David Richardson
Tim Shaw
Allan Donald