2.1 And as it happens in cricket, its Harris who takes the catch. A length delivery outside leg stump was slogged towards deep midwicket. The ball dips right near the boundary and who else but Harris should settle under it 16/1
    2.3 RP and Harris combo at it again. It was pushed well outside off stump, Ojha plays a weak slash. And the ball gently lobs to cover where Harris - oh he is everywhere isn't he - takes it 17/2
    10.6 holes out to deep midwicket. Fazal was looking for some quick runs here;' he again moved down the track but ended up dragging the ball straight to deep midwicket 94/3
    16.4 the slower bouncer, around 115 kmph, Watson mistimes his pull shot to deep square-leg. Watson falls after an entertaining fifty. He did give a few chances, though. 136/7
    12.4 Short ball gets Yusuf. Again. He moved outside leg, Harris follows him with a short ball, not a bouncer but dug in short, and Yusuf shovels it to backward point. 103/4
    15.2 length delivery, slower one outside off, Jhunjhunwala reaches out and cuts it to gully. 130/5
    15.5 Done in by another slower one. Double strike. Raut goes down on his knee and tries to pull it away but is beaten by the lack of pace. Trapped in front. 130/6
    17.4 Warne is run out. It was pushed towards backward point where RP fires in a direct hit at the striker's end 140/8
    not out
    18.3 full in length, slower one, outside off, scooped out towards short cover where Symonds dives forward to take a good catch 145/9
    19.5 Rajasthan bowled out for 159. Really full delivery on the leg stump line, the bat is late in coming down and the ball goes on to claim the leg stump 159/10
    12 (b 2, lb 4, w 6)
    159 all out (19.5 Overs, RR: 8.01)
    Fall of wickets: 1-16 (Michael Lumb, 2.1 ov), 2-17 (Naman Ojha, 2.3 ov), 3-94 (Faiz Fazal, 10.6 ov), 4-103 (Yusuf Pathan, 12.4 ov), 5-130 (Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, 15.2 ov), 6-130 (Abhishek Raut, 15.5 ov), 7-136 (Shane Watson, 16.4 ov), 8-140 (Shane Warne, 17.4 ov), 9-145 (Aditya Dole, 18.3 ov), 10-159 (Siddharth Trivedi, 19.5 ov)
    RJ Harris403428.50114110
    DR Smith2.502217.7653000
    RP Singh401734.25131010
    Harmeet Singh402526.25132110
    A Symonds201809.0030100
    PP Ojha3037112.3324110
    2.3 around 124 kmph short delivery and Laxman again goes for the pull but drags it straight to deep square-leg fielder. Hmm ... Cry of joy from the debutant. 26/1
    4.5 Gilly out on dole! It was short in length and Gilly goes for the pull shot but mistimes it completely and has been caught in front of square-leg. Entertainment ends. 47/2
    19.5 OMG! what a win for Warney's boys. What a piece of choke from Deccan. Sid Trivedi slips in a slower one outside off and Rohit goes for the big lofted hit over extra cover and is beaten by the lack of pace. He ends up slicing it to deep cover fielder. That Trivedi bowls mostly slower ones is known. Rohit should have been ready for it but the pressure has induced a fatal mistake from him. 157/10
    10.1 Done in by the slow bouncer. Symonds, who has looked edgy right from the start, is gone. He again moved outside off and went for an ugly flat-batted swipe and top edges it to extra cover 86/3
    13.5 Done in by the slider. It slid away outside off stump, Aniruddh tried to punch it to the off side and edges it .. good catch by Naman Ojha ... it was thick edge but he covered it well. Warne has struck. Enter Dwayne Smith 112/4
    15.3 'C'monn,' screams Warney! after taking out Smith. It was a flighted leg break on the middle and leg, Smith top edges the sweep shot straight to deep backward square-leg. Warne roars! 120/5
    17.1 Warne meanwhile threatens to do it all alone for his team. Flighted loopy slower leg break around off and middle, Azhar stretches forward and drives straight to extra cover! Warne pumps his fists as he roars! Rohit stands alone there. 137/6
    17.4 Shane Warne is doing all the damage here. What Harris was doing, we would never know. He came down the wicket and exposed his stumps. Warne rips across a flighted legbreak that lands outside leg and turns towards middle. Harris has a lame poke at it and misses it completely.. Done in the flight and then by the turn! Clatter! Warne has struck. Again. Whaddaplayaaaa 139/7
    19.3 What a catch by Morne! RP went for the big hit again and mistimed the slower one over mid-on. Morne rushed back and took a very good catch . the ball came from behind him, he stretched out his hands to hold on .. Rohit on strike now. 156/8
    19.4 Choke choke choke! What drama! Harmeet is run out This game is on a knife edge and nerves jangling out there. ROhit swatted a low dipping full toss to square-leg and ran. Wide throw at the non-striker's end ... Rohit rushes for the second run ... Harmeet isn't ready! Surely you got to run kid. Rohit screams at Harmeet to get across and sacrifice his wicket. And Harmeet just about stirs and runs .. Did he cross? Was Rohit short? The third umpire reckons Harmeet has just about crossed Rohit. Harmeet out and Rohit is still out there. 157/9
    not out
    10 (b 1, lb 2, nb 1, w 6)
    157 all out (19.5 Overs, RR: 7.91)
    Fall of wickets: 1-26 (VVS Laxman, 2.3 ov), 2-47 (Adam Gilchrist, 4.5 ov), 3-86 (Andrew Symonds, 10.1 ov), 4-112 (Anirudh Singh, 13.5 ov), 5-120 (Dwayne Smith, 15.3 ov), 6-137 (Azhar Bilakhia, 17.1 ov), 7-139 (Ryan Harris, 17.4 ov), 8-156 (RP Singh, 19.3 ov), 9-157 (Harmeet Singh, 19.4 ov), 10-157 (Rohit Sharma, 19.5 ov)
    YK Pathan20301.5090000
    SR Watson3040013.3345140
    AP Dole4042210.5083211
    M Morkel403208.0094100
    SK Trivedi2.501635.6482010
    SK Warne402145.25131100

Match Details


Rajasthan Royals , elected to bat first

Player Of The Match


Hours of play (local time)

20.00 start, First Session 20.00-21.20, Interval 21.20-21.40, Second Session 21.40-23.00

Match days

5 April 2010 - night match (20-over match)

Twenty20 debut

TV Umpires

Reserve Umpire

Match Referee


Rajasthan Royals 2, Deccan Chargers 0

Match Notes

Chargers 2nd innings Partnerships

1st26VVS LaxmanAC Gilchrist
2nd21AC GilchristRG Sharma
3rd39A SymondsRG Sharma
4th26Anirudh SinghRG Sharma
5th8DR SmithRG Sharma
6th17AA BilakhiaRG Sharma
7th2RJ HarrisRG Sharma
8th17RP SinghRG Sharma
9th1RG SharmaHarmeet Singh
10th0RG SharmaPP Ojha

Indian Premier League