3.5 141 kph, hoo boy, Ishant is pumped up! He's shattered Simmons' stumps with a peach of an inswinger. Bowled it full and on off stump, the batsman lazily attempts to flick it through leg. The resulting bat and pad gap is more than enough for the ball to surge through 29/2
    1.1 strikes first ball! It's a good length ball that Rohit plays around, struck low enough on the front pad and in line with the stumps, but he wasn't entirely happy with the decision. 8/1
    4.1 buh-bye, that's the second Pune bowler to strike first ball. Pandya went into the pull shot a touch too early - it's a slower ball from Marsh, takes the top edge and flies up into the night sky. MS calls for it, gets under it and takes it without any fuss 29/3
    4.6 duck on IPL debut! This is an absolute ripper from Marsh! Seemed to be following a straight line for the longest time - which is why Buttler wanted to flick it away - but then the outswing starts. Kisses the edge and settles in R Ashwin's hands at first slip. Good low catch too 30/4
    15.1 fourth Pune bowler to get a first-baller! And this is a rank one. Pitches it short, setting up the batsman for a pull shot. Rayudu gets into position, but he inside edges it. Faf take a good, low catch and has a very amused smile on his face 68/7
    7.1 third Pune bowler to get a first-ball wicket! Pollard is again caught on the back foot, and tries to adjust with his hands with a seam-up delivery darts back in at the right-hander. Struck in front of leg, struck low enough and sent off by umpire Dharmasena. They check the no-ball, it's fine. Mumbai sinking rapidly 40/5
    10.6 that should calm him down. He was brought in at relatively pressure-less circumstances. Took a little while to get his length - flighted delivery on off - Gopal strides down the track and simply chips it to long-off. Two runs off 16 balls. What an awful innings... 51/6
    not out
    18.4 there's Smithy for you. This ball - recorded at 142 kph - was short and at the batsman. Vinay goes for the pull shot, strikes it too high on the bat and it ends up as a simple catch at deep midwicket 96/8
    not out
    13 (lb 1, w 12)
    121/8 (20 Overs, RR: 6.05)
    Did not bat: JJ Bumrah
    Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Rohit Sharma, 1.1 ov), 2-29 (Lendl Simmons, 3.5 ov), 3-29 (Hardik Pandya, 4.1 ov), 4-30 (Jos Buttler, 4.6 ov), 5-40 (Kieron Pollard, 7.1 ov), 6-51 (Shreyas Gopal, 10.6 ov), 7-68 (Ambati Rayudu, 15.1 ov), 8-96 (Vinay Kumar, 18.4 ov)
    RP Singh3030110.0074110
    I Sharma403629.00154140
    MR Marsh402125.25131110
    R Bhatia411012.50171000
    M Ashwin401614.00131000
    R Ashwin10717.0021000

Match Notes

Consistent Rahane


Fifty-plus scores for Rahane in the IPL, as many as Virat Kohli. Only six batsmen have more fifty-plus scores

A heavy defeat


Balls remaining when RPS chased the target. Only twice have Mumbai Indians lost an IPL game with more deliveries to spare

Expensive Bumrah


Runs conceded by Bumrah in his 3rd over, his second-highest in T20s; his worst is 25, v RCB last year

A late charge


Runs scored by Mumbai Indians in the last three overs; after 17, MI were 80 for 7

Harbhajan's high


Harbhajan's score, the second highest by a No. 8 batsman in IPL. The highest is also by Harbhajan - 64 v Kings XI in 2015

Can MI do a repeat?


Lowest total successfully defended by Mumbai Indians, v Pune Warriors in 2012. They won that game by 1 run

Bhatia in elite company


Bowlers who have bowled 4 overs at the Wankhede in IPL and conceded 10 or fewer runs: Pollock (2008), Steyn (2012) and Bhatia (today)

An IPL first


This is the first instance in IPL history of four bowlers taking a wicket with their first ball in an innings

MI's collapse


MI's score at five down, their lowest for the loss of five wickets in IPL history. Their previous lowest was 41, v Daredevils in 2012

New low for Mumbai


This is the first time each of Mumbai Indians' top 4 batsmen have been dismissed for single-digit scores

Ishant's century


T20s for Ishant Sharma. He made it memorable by dismissing Rohit off his first ball, and then getting Simmons as well

A chasing venue


Win-loss record for teams batting first in T20s at the Wankhede in 2016. However, in IPL 2015, teams batting first had a 6-2 record here