Behera, Sahoo tons lift Odisha

Vidarbha 14 for 2 (Fazal 10*) trail Odisha 453 for 6 dec (Behera 131, Sahoo 114*, Podder 74, Jungade 4-56) by 439 runs

Resuming on 226 for 3 from the previous delay, it was imperative that Odisha's batsmen put on a sizable first-innings effort. Niranjan Behera, who was on 90 overnight, was able to notch the remaining runs to score a third first-class century. His partner, Biplab Samamntray, fell soon after with the score on 242 to Amol Jungade, who had him caught behind by wicketkeeper Amol Ubarhande. His replacement, Abhilash Mallick, only lasted two balls before he was removed in the same manner of dismissal.

This brought Subhrajit Sahoo to the crease, and along with Behera, the pair put on exactly 100 for the sixth wicket before Behera was claimed by Sumit Ruikar on 131. One Behera was replaced by another as Deepak Behera strode to the crease. Together with Sahoo, the pair put on an unbeaten stand of 111 before Odisha declared on 453 for 6. Sahoo was not out on 114, while Deepak Behera added 58. Jungade was the pick of the bowlers with 4 for 56. Vidarbha only faced four overs but, crucially, lost two wickets to finish on 14 for 2, with opener Faiz Fazal not out on 10.

Jharkhand 231 (Tiwary 95, Mohit 4-30) trail Haryana 309 (Dalal 58, Sunny 53, Aaron 4-48) by 78 runs

The second day began with Jharkand needing to restrict Haryana to as little as possible when they resumed on 296 for 8. Within thee overs, the job was done as both Mohit Sharma and Yuzhendra Chahal were sent back as Haryana were dismissed for 309. Varun Aaron led the way with 4 for 48, while Shahbaz Nadeem chipped in with 3 for 109.

Jharkhand started abysmally, with Mohit removing the first three batsmen with the score on just 26. Ishank Jaggi didn't last long either as Jharkhand were reduced to 40 for 4. Saurabh Tiwary and Bhavin Thakkar put on an integral 106-run stand for the fifth wicket to help steady the innings. Thakkar was dismissed on 35 in the 65th over, followed by Tiwary on 95 in the 70th. The rest of the line-up failed to put up meaningful scores as Jharkhand were bundled for 231. Mohit was the pick of the Haryana bowlers with 4 for 30.

Jharkhand 4th innings Partnerships

1st4MS VardhanAkash Verma
2nd8BJ ThakkarAkash Verma
3rd24SS TiwaryBJ Thakkar
4th70BJ ThakkarIR Jaggi
5th29BD ThakerBJ Thakkar
6th4BJ ThakkarSP Gautam
7th15S NadeemBJ Thakkar
8th0BJ ThakkarVR Aaron
9th3BJ ThakkarR Shukla
10th15SS RaoR Shukla