Player of the Match
Player of the Match

Hope, bowlers power Barbados into final

Barbados 314 for 7 (Hope 125, K Brathwaite 54, Cornwall 2-53) beat Leeward Islands 204 (Hodge 63, Nurse 3-37, C Brathwaite 3-56) by 110 runs

Shai Hope's second List A century set the tone for Barbados' 110-run win over Leeward Islands in the second semi-final of the 2016-17 WICB Regional Super50 tournament in Antigua. Barbados will now play Jamaica in the decider on February 18, their second successive appearance in the final of the tournament.

With Barbados having opted to bat first, Hope came to the crease in the 10th over with the score on 42 and anchored the side until the 46th over, taking them past 270. Along the way, he shared in half-century stands with Kraigg Brathwaite (77 for the second wicket), Roston Chase (83 for the fourth) and Jason Holder (68 for the sixth). His 125 came off 108 balls and included eight fours and five sixes. Hope's partnership with Holder came off only 32 deliveries, and Carlos Brathwaite utilised that momentum in an 11-ball 27 that lifted the score past 300. Holder contributed an unbeaten 42 off 26 balls with two fours and three sixes, while Kraigg Brathwaite struck 54 off 84 balls.

Hope's good form on the field extended to his keeping, too, as he effected seven dismissals behind the stumps in Leeward's chase. Leeward fell away rapidly, stumbling to 43 for 4 by the 15th over and, at one stage, their innings looked in danger of folding for less than 200. Opener Montcin Hodge batted until the 39th over, scoring 63 in the process, but had little support from the rest of the line-up. Seamer Jeremiah Louis struck an unbeaten 32-ball 41 before Leeward's innings folded for 204 in the 48th over.

Offspinner Ashley Nurse and Carlos Brathwaite took three wickets each, with Nurse conceding only 37 runs in his 10 overs.

Leeward Is 2nd innings Partnerships

1st16MV HodgeKOA Powell
2nd9MV HodgeJ Otto
3rd14MV HodgeJN Hamilton
4th4CF HughesMV Hodge
5th50MV HodgeRRS Cornwall
6th6O PetersMV Hodge
7th40MV HodgeAJ Hosein
8th12MV HodgeJS Louis
9th26JA CampbellJS Louis
10th27AS JosephJS Louis