Matches (28)
ILT20 (2)
SA v ENG (1)
IND v NZ (1)
PAK-W in AUS (1)
Ranji Trophy (17)
BBL (1)
WU19 WC (2)
Super Smash (1)
BPL 2023 (2)
5th Match, Colombo (RPS), July 26, 2001, Coca-Cola Cup (Sri Lanka)
(46.4/48 ov) 200
(39.4/47 ov, T:201) 133

New Zealand won by 67 runs

Player Of The Match
42 (58) & 1/25
New Zealand Innings
India Innings
Match Details
New Zealand  (48 ovs maximum)
Mathew Sinclair c Dravid b Ganguly3672963050.00
Nathan Astle c †Dighe b Nehra531510166.66
Jacob Oram c Dravid b Harbhajan Singh40375951108.10
Craig McMillan (c)c Badani b Ganguly1723322073.91
Lou Vincent c Laxman b Ganguly1633331048.48
Chris Harris c Badani b Yuvraj Singh1223471052.17
Adam Parore  b Yuvraj Singh044000.00
Dion Nash c Ganguly b Sehwag4258653072.41
Daniel Vettori lbw b Sehwag1920270195.00
Kyle Mills c & b Khan2790028.57
Daryl Tuffey not out 2350066.66
Extras(lb 1, nb 3, w 5)9
TOTAL46.4 Ov (RR: 4.28, 200 Mts)200
Fall of wickets: 1-21 (Nathan Astle, 3.2 ov), 2-85 (Jacob Oram, 15.6 ov), 3-99 (Mathew Sinclair, 20.5 ov), 4-108 (Craig McMillan, 24.2 ov), 5-125 (Lou Vincent, 28.5 ov), 6-126 (Adam Parore, 29.6 ov), 7-143 (Chris Harris, 35.4 ov), 8-186 (Daniel Vettori, 42.6 ov), 9-198 (Kyle Mills, 45.2 ov), 10-200 (Dion Nash, 46.4 ov)
Zaheer Khan804415.50285010
45.2 to KD Mills, back of a length and on the off and middle, quicker one, the bounce surprises Mills, the top edge of the pull balloons in the air, Zaheer Khan steams down the wicket, dives and takes a fabulous catch low down. 198/9
Ashish Nehra703615.14264022
3.2 to NJ Astle, slightly shorter in length, on the off, slanting away beautifully, a bit of extra bounce too, Astle has an optimistic poke at it and edges the ball to the keeper, Dige pouches the catch and that is the first New Zealand wicket down. 21/1
Harbhajan Singh814215.25314200
15.6 to JDP Oram, ell flighted and outside the off, Oram unveils the reverse sweep, the ball goes off the face of the bat towards slip, Dravid dives across nicely and pulls of a sharp reflex catch, well taken that. 85/2
Sourav Ganguly913233.55352011
20.5 to MS Sinclair, full and on the off, flicked straight to Dravid at midwicket, that is the third Kiwi wicket to fall. 99/3
24.2 to CD McMillan, just back of a length and on the off, down the track, heaved to the on side, straight to Badani at midwicket, that is the end of the Kiwi skipper. 108/4
28.5 to L Vincent, just short of a length and on the off, driven hard on the up again, this time straight to the man at mid off, that is the 5th New Zealand wicket down. 125/5
Yuvraj Singh1002422.40400000
29.6 to AC Parore, quicker one on the stumps, Parore leans back to cut, too close to cut that, inside edge rockets onto the stumps, and another keyNew Zealand wicket falls. 126/6
35.4 to CZ Harris, drifting into the batsman, Harris comes down the track, plays it in the air to Badani at backward of square leg, easy catch, Badani doesn't mis any of those. 143/7
Virender Sehwag4.402124.50131010
42.6 to DL Vettori, . 186/8
46.4 to DJ Nash, back of a length on the stumps, Nash tonks it to the on side, Ganguly at midwicket sees it early and pouches the catch. 200/10
India  (T: 201 runs from 47 ovs)
Sourav Ganguly (c)lbw b Mills4891050.00
Virender Sehwag run out (Vettori)3354593061.11
VVS Laxman  b Tuffey1240050.00
Rahul Dravid  b Oram27571111047.36
Hemang Badani c McMillan b Vettori610101060.00
Yuvraj Singh c †Parore b Harris2851503054.90
Reetinder Sodhi run out (Vincent/Vettori)913251069.23
Sameer Dighe run out (Harris/†Parore)033000.00
Harbhajan Singh  b Harris616180037.50
Zaheer Khan not out 1114251078.57
Ashish Nehra  b Nash214130014.28
Extras(nb 4, w 2)6
TOTAL39.4 Ov (RR: 3.35, 168 Mts)133
Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Sourav Ganguly, 1.6 ov), 2-9 (VVS Laxman, 2.5 ov), 3-59 (Virender Sehwag, 15.5 ov), 4-66 (Hemang Badani, 17.5 ov), 5-99 (Rahul Dravid, 27.2 ov), 6-111 (Yuvraj Singh, 30.6 ov), 7-112 (Sameer Dighe, 31.4 ov), 8-114 (Reetinder Sodhi, 33.3 ov), 9-122 (Harbhajan Singh, 36.1 ov), 10-133 (Ashish Nehra, 39.4 ov)
Daryl Tuffey401513.75172010
2.5 to VVS Laxman, back of a length just outside the off, big cut shot played far away from the body, that ball was not there for the cut either, straight back onto the stumps and that is the end of Laxman. 9/2
Kyle Mills402015.00163000
1.6 to SC Ganguly, full and straight, Ganguly plays and misses, rapped on the pads in front of the stumps, loud shout for lbw, given, that looked pretty out too depite Ganguly's obvious show of dissent. 5/1
Dion Nash7.402513.26261000
39.4 to A Nehra, full, straight and quick, Nehra misses, Nash hits, clean bowled and that is that. 133/10
Jacob Oram401814.50161002
27.2 to R Dravid, . 99/5
Daniel Vettori1003313.30382012
17.5 to HK Badani, just short of a length and outside the off, Badani comes down the track and lofts the ball, the southpaw can't quite get hold of it, the ball goes up in the air and McMillan settles under it. 66/4
Nathan Astle301304.33122000
Chris Harris73921.28350000
30.6 to Yuvraj Singh, back of a length outside the off, played hard at and nothing more than an edge result, the faint tickle goes through to Parore and Yuvraj is gone. 111/6
36.1 to Harbhajan Singh, well flighted, delightfully pitched up and on the stumps, Harbhajan thinks that is so easy to play, a Harris special that, right through the gate, kissing the top of the middle stump, and another one bites the dust. 122/9
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
TossIndia, elected to field first
Player Of The Match
New Zealand
Dion Nash
Match numberODI no. 1739
Match daysday (50-over match)
Sri Lanka
Gamini Silva
Sri Lanka
Peter Manuel
TV Umpire
Sri Lanka
Lalith Jayasundara
Match Referee
West Indies
Cammie Smith
PointsNew Zealand 2, India 0
  • 4th Umpire: EAR de Silva
  • New Zealand innings:
  • New Zealand 50 in 8.5 overs, 40 mins
  • New Zealand 100 in 21.1 overs, 96 mins
  • New Zealand 150 in 37.4 overs, 164 mins
  • New Zealand 200 in 46.2 overs, 198 mins
  • Indian innings:
  • India were fined 1 over for a slow over rate
  • India 50 in 12.4 overs, 61 mins
  • India 100 in 27.3 overs, 130 mins
India Innings
<1 / 3>
Coca-Cola Cup (Sri Lanka)