Chelmsford, Sep 11 - 14 2012, County Championship Division Two
312 & 252/8d
(51.5 ov, target 388)177 & 148
Yorkshire won by 239 runs
Yorkshire 1st INNINGS
Adam Lyth c †Foster b Napier67698011097.10
Joe Root lbw b Napier035000.00
Phil Jaques c Mills b Napier38841173045.23
Andrew Gale (c)c Mills b Westley1054791018.51
Gary Ballance c Mickleburgh b Topley3067863044.77
Anthony McGrath c †Foster b Topley1850571036.00
Andy Hodd run out (ten Doeschate)2268840032.35
Azeem Rafiq c †Foster b Napier531301751040.76
Ryan Sidebottom c & b Craddock3764768057.81
Steven Patterson  b Napier1734472050.00
Moin Ashraf not out 623280026.08
Extras(b 3, lb 6, nb 5)14
TOTAL(107.2 Ov, RR: 2.90)312
Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Joe Root, 1.3 ov), 2-86 (Adam Lyth, 18.6 ov), 3-113 (Phil Jaques, 30.3 ov), 4-134 (Andrew Gale, 39.3 ov), 5-165 (Gary Ballance, 52.6 ov), 6-166 (Anthony McGrath, 54.3 ov), 7-224 (Andy Hodd, 77.2 ov), 8-284 (Ryan Sidebottom, 95.5 ov), 9-299 (Azeem Rafiq, 99.5 ov), 10-312 (Steven Patterson, 107.2 ov)
Reece Topley2568523.4011012001
Graham Napier27.236552.371233000
Tom Craddock1113713.36424000
Tymal Mills1734402.58776000
Tom Westley2265012.271033000
Ryan ten Doeschate502204.40192001
Essex 1st INNINGS
Tom Westley lbw b Azeem Rafiq1839572046.15
Jaik Mickleburgh  b Patterson415240026.66
Owais Shah c Lyth b Azeem Rafiq631440019.35
Mark Pettini lbw b Ashraf1450025.00
Ryan ten Doeschate c Ballance b Azeem Rafiq621141446254.38
James Foster (c)†lbw b Patterson1662791025.80
Adam Wheater c Gale b Sidebottom1625343064.00
Graham Napier c Lyth b Ashraf2025302080.00
Tom Craddock c Lyth b Ashraf816311050.00
Reece Topley lbw b Ashraf011000.00
Tymal Mills not out 2023240286.95
Extras(b 2, nb 4)6
TOTAL(58.5 Ov, RR: 3.00)177
Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Jaik Mickleburgh, 5.5 ov), 2-25 (Tom Westley, 13.1 ov), 3-26 (Mark Pettini, 14.1 ov), 4-34 (Owais Shah, 15.2 ov), 5-97 (James Foster, 36.4 ov), 6-119 (Adam Wheater, 44.3 ov), 7-147 (Ryan ten Doeschate, 51.4 ov), 8-148 (Graham Napier, 52.3 ov), 9-148 (Reece Topley, 52.4 ov), 10-177 (Tom Craddock, 58.5 ov)
Ryan Sidebottom1323212.46613000
Steven Patterson1522921.93722000
Moin Ashraf11.533643.04554002
Azeem Rafiq1546534.33644400
Anthony McGrath411303.25182000
Yorkshire 2nd INNINGS
Adam Lyth c Mickleburgh b Westley511081487047.22
Joe Root c Pettini b Napier26130033.33
Phil Jaques c Shah b Napier616181037.50
Andrew Gale (c)c Pettini b Napier51491035.71
Gary Ballance c Craddock b Westley27851241031.76
Anthony McGrath c Wheater b Napier681791748037.98
Andy Hodd c †Foster b Craddock11414007.14
Azeem Rafiq not out 751351868055.55
Steven Patterson  b Mills047000.00
Ryan Sidebottom not out 921351042.85
Extras(lb 7, w 1)8
TOTAL(97 Ov, RR: 2.59)252/8d
Did not bat: Moin Ashraf 
Fall of wickets: 1-14 (Joe Root, 3.3 ov), 2-30 (Phil Jaques, 7.2 ov), 3-36 (Andrew Gale, 9.5 ov), 4-95 (Adam Lyth, 37.3 ov), 5-108 (Gary Ballance, 41.2 ov), 6-111 (Andy Hodd, 46.5 ov), 7-221 (Anthony McGrath, 88.3 ov), 8-222 (Steven Patterson, 89.3 ov)
Reece Topley1844102.27814000
Graham Napier2165442.57987000
Ryan ten Doeschate611602.66272000
Tymal Mills1505213.46596010
Tom Westley1663722.31774000
Tom Craddock2164512.14974000
Essex 2nd INNINGS (target: 388 runs)
Tom Westley c †Hodd b Patterson1831364058.06
Jaik Mickleburgh c Jaques b Azeem Rafiq215230013.33
Owais Shah not out 711381895151.44
Tom Craddock c Jaques b Patterson515221033.33
Mark Pettini c Ballance b Azeem Rafiq1745631037.77
Ryan ten Doeschate c Gale b Ashraf1220050.00
James Foster (c)†c Jaques b Azeem Rafiq1041490024.39
Adam Wheater c †Hodd b Azeem Rafiq19162301118.75
Graham Napier c Jaques b Azeem Rafiq032000.00
Reece Topley c Lyth b Patterson0411000.00
Tymal Mills  b Patterson011000.00
Extras(lb 5)5
TOTAL(51.5 Ov, RR: 2.85)148
Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Jaik Mickleburgh, 5.4 ov), 2-22 (Tom Westley, 8.5 ov), 3-34 (Tom Craddock, 14.1 ov), 4-74 (Mark Pettini, 28.5 ov), 5-75 (Ryan ten Doeschate, 29.1 ov), 6-109 (James Foster, 42.5 ov), 7-135 (Adam Wheater, 48.3 ov), 8-135 (Graham Napier, 48.6 ov), 9-148 (Reece Topley, 51.4 ov), 10-148 (Tymal Mills, 51.5 ov)
Steven Patterson14.523442.29724100
Ryan Sidebottom831201.50390000
Azeem Rafiq1735052.94764100
Moin Ashraf1123913.54432000
Joe Root10808.0031000
County Ground, Chelmsford
TossYorkshire, elected to bat first
SeriesCounty Championship Division Two
Hours of play (local time)10.30am start, Lunch 12.30-13.10, Tea 15.10-15.30, Close 17.30
Match days11,12,13,14 September 2012 - day(4-day match)
England Image
Martin Bodenham
England Image
Peter Willey
PointsYorkshire 22, Essex 3
Tue, 11 Sep - day 1 -Yorkshire 1st innings 284/8 (Azeem Rafiq 49*, 95.5 ov)
Wed, 12 Sep - day 2 -Yorkshire 2nd innings 44/3 (Adam Lyth 26*, Gary Ballance 1*, 14 ov)
Thu, 13 Sep - day 3 -Essex 2nd innings 28/2 (Owais Shah 4*, Tom Craddock 4*, 11 ov)
Fri, 14 Sep - day 4 -Essex 2nd innings 148 (51.5 ov) - end of match