11th Match (D/N), Colombo (RPS), Sep 22 2002, ICC Champions Trophy
(39.3/50 ov, target 270)271/2
India won by 8 wickets (with 63 balls remaining)
player of the match
England INNINGS (50 overs maximum)
Marcus Trescothick c Laxman b Nehra0813000.00
Nick Knight c Harbhajan Singh b Yuvraj Singh50701243071.42
Nasser Hussain (c)c †Dravid b Nehra11112009.09
Ronnie Irani lbw b Kumble3747655078.72
Owais Shah c †Dravid b Kumble3447524072.34
Ian Blackwell run out (Sehwag/†Dravid)82689163120.58
Alec Stewart c Ganguly b Tendulkar3544631079.54
Dominic Cork not out 65900120.00
Ashley Giles not out 2320066.66
Extras(b 5, lb 9, nb 3, w 5)22
TOTAL(50 Ov, RR: 5.38, 219 Mts)269/7
Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Marcus Trescothick, 3.1 ov), 2-7 (Nasser Hussain, 5.2 ov), 3-80 (Ronnie Irani, 18.4 ov), 4-127 (Nick Knight, 27.5 ov), 5-153 (Owais Shah, 33.1 ov), 6-257 (Alec Stewart, 48.1 ov), 7-264 (Ian Blackwell, 49.2 ov)
Zaheer Khan1024004.00364002
Ashish Nehra1004924.90334011
Anil Kumble905826.44244100
Harbhajan Singh1004204.20331120
Sourav Ganguly1010010.0022000
Sachin Tendulkar201316.5052000
Yuvraj Singh301816.0091100
Virender Sehwag502505.00141010
India INNINGS (target: 270 runs from 50 overs)
Virender Sehwag c & b Blackwell126104136211121.15
Sourav Ganguly (c)not out 117109183123107.33
VVS Laxman run out (Shah/†Stewart)48111050.00
Sachin Tendulkar not out 920340045.00
Extras(b 1, lb 1, nb 4, w 9)15
TOTAL(39.3 Ov, RR: 6.86, 183 Mts)271/2
Fall of wickets: 1-192 (Virender Sehwag, 28.4 ov), 2-200 (VVS Laxman, 31.2 ov)
Andy Caddick705908.42219120
Matthew Hoggard1005405.40358011
Dominic Cork5.304508.18206143
Ronnie Irani503406.80145000
Ashley Giles403107.7583100
Ian Blackwell804615.75243120
R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
TossEngland, elected to bat first
SeriesICC Champions Trophy
Player Of The Match
Virender Sehwag
Virender Sehwag
Match numberODI no. 1884
Match daysdaynight (50-over match)
Zimbabwe Image
Russell Tiffin
West Indies Image
Steve Bucknor
TV Umpire
South Africa Image
Rudi Koertzen
Match Referee
Pakistan Image
Wasim Raja
PointsIndia 4, England 0
  • 4th (reserve) umpire: DL Orchard (SA)
  • New partnership record for the 6th wicket for England against India The previous record was 58 by VJ Marks & PR Downton at Cuttack in 1984/85
  • V Sehwag 100 in 77 balls, 104 mins, 17x4, 1x6
  • New partnership record for the 1st wicket for Ind v Eng Previous best was 188 by K Srikkanth & RJ Shastri at Cuttack 1984/85
  • SC Ganguly 100 in 178 mins off 103 balls, 10x4, 2x6