Final (D/N), Mount Maunganui, February 03, 2018, ICC Under-19 World Cup
(38.5/50 ov, T:217) 220/2

India U19 won by 8 wickets (with 67 balls remaining)

Player Of The Match
101* (102)
Player Of The Series
372 runs
Aust U19 Innings
India U19 Innings
Australia Under-19s  (50 ovs maximum)
Jack Edwards c Nagarkoti b Porel2829495096.55
Max Bryant c Abhishek Sharma b Porel14122630116.66
Jason Sangha (c)c †Desai b Nagarkoti1324321054.16
Jonathan Merlo c Shiva Singh b Roy761021406074.50
Param Uppal c & b Roy3458593058.62
Nathan McSweeney c & b Shiva Singh2329462079.31
Will Sutherland c †Desai b Shiva Singh5891062.50
Baxter Holt run out (Shiva Singh/†Desai)13133200100.00
Zak Evans  b Nagarkoti1350033.33
Ryan Hadley c †Desai b Shivam Mavi1380033.33
Lloyd Pope not out 036000.00
Extras(lb 1, w 7)8
TOTAL47.2 Ov (RR: 4.56)216
Fall of wickets: 1-32 (Max Bryant, 5.1 ov), 2-52 (Jack Edwards, 9.6 ov), 3-59 (Jason Sangha, 11.4 ov), 4-134 (Param Uppal, 28.5 ov), 5-183 (Nathan McSweeney, 39.2 ov), 6-191 (Will Sutherland, 41.3 ov), 7-212 (Jonathan Merlo, 45.3 ov), 8-214 (Zak Evans, 46.1 ov), 9-216 (Baxter Holt, 46.3 ov), 10-216 (Ryan Hadley, 47.2 ov)
Shivam Mavi8.214615.52287020
47.2 to R Hadley, was that a nick? Yup, it was. Hadley almost walks off by the time the umpire raises his finger. A fullish delivery, luring him forward, into the corridor of uncertainty. Hadley pushes forward and there was a small but clear noise as the ball went towards the keeper. Australia are all out. 216/10
Ishan Porel713024.28292020
5.1 to M Bryant, short, wide, slashed and straight into the hands of cover. India have their opening breakthrough. Finally a hard-handed shot finds the fielder. He slapped this with power but cover got down to his right to take a sharp, good catch. 32/1
9.6 to J Edwards, almost similar fashion to the first dismissal. Extra bounce outside off, couldn't get on top of it and punches awkwardly after arching back awkwardly and punches straight into the hands of cover. 52/2
Shiva Singh1003623.60312000
39.2 to NA McSweeney, Shiva hangs it up outside off and gets it to grip and break away outside off. McSweeney, like Uppal, aims to flick it against the turn but isn't close enough to the pitch. He can only loop a leading edge back to the bowler. Simple, simple catch for Shiva. Jonathan Merlo is now the key for Australia. 183/5
41.3 to W Sutherland, Shiva goes wide of the crease and lets an arm ball rip. Skids back into the right-hander. Will Sutherland throws his bat the ball and aims a booming cover drive outside the line. Shiva finds the inside edge and the keeper snaffles it. Australia are wobbling around Merlo. Quality catch from Desai. 191/6
Kamlesh Nagarkoti904124.55304030
11.4 to JJS Sangha, edged and taken. Nagarkoti strikes in his first over. Tremendous catch by Desai who flings himself to his right to pouch it. Just back of a length, angling in and straightening around the fourth or fifth-stump line. He sticks the bat out and gets an outside edge. 59/3
46.1 to Z Evans, knocks the off-stump. Full and pacy from Nagarkoti at 140ks, Evans is hanging his bat out loosely without making an effort to get his feet close to the delivery. The ball seams in and knocks the bails over. 214/8
Abhishek Sharma603005.00142000
Anukul Roy703224.57224000
28.5 to P Uppal, Roy provides India with the breakthrough and lets out a roar. Roy holds this full one back and gets it to drift in and dip. Uppal is not close enough to the pitch and eyes up the leg side. He looks to work to the leg side against the break. Instead, he chips a return catch via a leading edge. Roy pouches it with both hands to boost India. 134/4
45.3 to J Merlo, caught! A big reverse sweep but not full enough. That results in the ball bouncing more than ideal and taking the top-edge as sweeper cover settles under it easily. Crucial breakthrough, the set Merlo gone. 212/7
India Under-19s  (T: 217 runs from 50 ovs)
Prithvi Shaw (c) b Sutherland2941564070.73
Manjot Kalra not out 1011021608399.01
Shubman Gill  b Uppal31304340103.33
Harvik Desai not out 4761635077.04
Extras(lb 1, nb 1, w 10)12
TOTAL38.5 Ov (RR: 5.66)220/2
Fall of wickets: 1-71 (Prithvi Shaw, 11.4 ov), 2-131 (Shubman Gill, 21.2 ov)
Ryan Hadley703705.28234030
Zak Evans513006.00193121
Will Sutherland6.503615.26224030
11.4 to PP Shaw, Sutherland tilts Shaw's off stump back! Good length, angling in from wide of the crease, and nipping away past the outside edge to rattle the top of off stump. Loose, loose drive. Shaw simply stayed leg-side of the ball and missed the cover drive. His back foot was moving away outside leg, his head falling over, no balance at all. 71/1
Jack Edwards1015015.0013000
Lloyd Pope504208.4083200
Jonathan Merlo402105.25112010
Param Uppal1003813.80292000
21.2 to Shubman Gill, Uppal draws Gill out of the crease and bowls him. Good length, starts outside off, and breaks through the weak defences of Gill, who had dared to step out. Uppal hits the top of off and gives Australia hope. Big blow for India. For the first time in this Under-19 World Cup, Gill is dismissed for fewer than 50. India's middle order will be tested after all. 131/2
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui
TossAustralia Under-19s, elected to bat first
Player Of The Match
India U19
Manjot Kalra
Player Of The Series
India U19
Shubman Gill
Series resultIndia Under-19s (Young Cricketers) won the 2017/18 ICC Under-19 World Cup
Match numberYODI no. 1204
Hours of play (local time)14.00 start, First Session 14.00-17.30, Interval 17.30-18.15, Second Session 18.15-20.45
Match days3 February 2018 - daynight (50-over match)
TV Umpire
Reserve Umpire
Match Referee
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions
India U19 Innings
<1 / 3>
ICC Under-19 World Cup
Group A
Group B
Group C
Group D