1st ODI (D/N), Taupo, January 09, 1999, India tour of New Zealand
(38/39 ov, T:200) 200/5

New Zealand won by 5 wickets (with 6 balls remaining) (D/L method)

Player Of The Match
123* (123)
India Innings
New Zealand Innings
Match Details
India  (50 ovs maximum)
Sourav Ganguly c Larsen b Vettori60881087068.18
Sachin Tendulkar c Harris b Cairns0510000.00
Rahul Dravid not out 123123201101100.00
Mohammad Azharuddin (c) b Larsen922270040.90
Ajay Jadeja c & b Harris1017170058.82
Robin Singh run out (Nash)2731402087.09
Hrishikesh Kanitkar not out 17141420121.42
Extras(lb 5, w 6)11
TOTAL50 Ov (RR: 5.14)257/5
Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Sachin Tendulkar, 2.1 ov), 2-116 (Sourav Ganguly, 25.3 ov), 3-144 (Mohammad Azharuddin, 32.6 ov), 4-163 (Ajay Jadeja, 37.4 ov), 5-223 (Robin Singh, 46.1 ov)
Chris Cairns805316.62---30
Simon Doull713404.85---20
Dion Nash804205.25---00
Gavin Larsen1004614.60---00
Chris Harris1013513.50---00
Daniel Vettori502615.20---00
Craig McMillan201608.00---10
New Zealand  (T: 200 runs from 39 ovs)
Roger Twose c †Mongia b Srinath1012141083.33
Matt Horne lbw b Tendulkar5762945091.93
Craig McMillan c Ganguly b Srinath73761148096.05
Chris Cairns c Srinath b Singh2331470174.19
Adam Parore not out 1623421069.56
Chris Harris run out (Azharuddin)1323351056.52
Dion Nash not out 11300100.00
Extras(lb 5, w 2)7
TOTAL38 Ov (RR: 5.26)200/5
Fall of wickets: 1-21 (Roger Twose, 2.5 ov), 2-126 (Matt Horne, 20.6 ov), 3-166 (Craig McMillan, 29.4 ov), 4-168 (Chris Cairns, 31.1 ov), 5-194 (Chris Harris, 37.3 ov)
Javagal Srinath803524.37---10
Venkatesh Prasad814105.12---00
Nikhil Chopra803704.62---00
Robin Singh403619.00---00
Sachin Tendulkar803414.25---10
Hrishikesh Kanitkar201206.00---00
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Owen Delany Park, Taupo
TossIndia, elected to bat first
Player Of The Match
Rahul Dravid
Series resultNew Zealand led the 5-match series 1-0
Match numberODI no. 1378
Match daysdaynight (50-over match)
New Zealand
Billy Bowden
New Zealand
Doug Cowie
TV Umpire
New Zealand
Tony Hill
Match Referee
Talat Ali
  • India innings: 50 off 70 balls, 55 minutes; 100 off 134 balls, 97 minutes; 150 off 207 balls, 145 minutes; 200 off 260 balls, 184 minutes; 250 off 294 balls, 209 minutes
  • R Dravid 50 off 60 balls, 97 minutes; 100 off 112 balls, 181 minutes, 8x4
  • SC Ganguly and R Dravid partnership: 50 off 58 balls, 44 minutes; 100 off 126 balls, 88 minutes
  • R Dravid and RR Singh partnership: 50 off 44 balls, 34 minutes
  • SP Fleming left the field at 4:54pm with a groin strain, replaced as captain by DJ Nash
  • CD McMillan 50 off 42 balls, 63 minutes, 8x4
  • MJ Horne 50 off 51 balls, 82 minutes
  • MJ Horne and CD McMillan partnership: 100 off 99 balls, 73 minutes
  • Attendance: 12000
  • First ever One-Day International at Taupo, New Zealand's 8th new venue (after Christchurch, Dunedin, Wellington, Auckland, Hamilton, Napier and New Plymouth). It is the 122nd venue worldwide.
  • A lighting tower blew a fuse at 8:56pm and as a result a circuit breaker had to be replaced, delaying a resumption in play for almost 50 minutes. Drinks were taken upon stoppage of play with New Zealand 168/3 after 30.4 overs. 11 overs were deducted based on a rate of 1 over per 4.2 minutes lost.
  • New Zealand's target revised to 200 runs off 39 overs to win using the Duckworth/Lewis method (32 runs off the remaining 8.2 overs required).
New Zealand Innings
<1 / 3>