Victoria 162 & 9 for 432 dec beat Tasmania 101 & 366 (Bevan 167*, Wright 111, Lewis 6-84) by 127 runs

Cameron White enjoys the wicket of Andrew Downton as Victoria win at Hobart for the first time in 25 years © Getty Images

Michael Lewis pushed Victoria to their first win at Hobart in 25 years despite strong resistance from Michael Bevan in the Pura Cup match at Bellerive Oval. Bevan was unbeaten on 167, his first century for his new state, when Lewis picked up the No. 11 Brett Geeves to claim his sixth wicket.

Lewis also broke the 215-run partnership, a Tasmanian record for the seventh wicket, between Bevan and Damien Wright, who reached his maiden first-class century after being 99 overnight. The pair joined at 6 for 46, adding respectablity to the second innings, but could not prevent Victoria registering their first six points of the summer.

Victoria, the defending champions, last beat Tasmania at Hobart at the TCA ground in 1980-81. "It was a great win and created another bit of history," the captain Cameron White said. "We are pretty relieved to be in the position we are in now."

  • Tasmania's allrounder Damian Wright, 29, has been awarded the Cascade Tasmanian Tiger, Damian Wright has been awarded the Spirit of ANZAC Medal. The award recognises mateship, teamwork, sportsmanship and humour. Wright scored his maiden first-class century and took 2 for 33 in the first innings of the match.