Rawalpindi 211 (Zia 76, Mansoor 60, Nadir 4-49, Mudassar 4-67) and 398 (Nasir 177, Naeem 75, Mudassar 3-48) beat Islamabad 175 (Raheem 85, Malik 4-68) and 206 (Wasim 49, Ayub 5-67) by 228 runs

Rawalpindi beat Islamabad by 228 runs to win their maiden Quaid-e-Azam title at the Gaddafi Stadium.

The fifth day began with Islamabad facing near-inevitable defeat at 99 for 5, chasing 435, but heavy fog wiped out the first session. After play began, Islamabad resisted for brief periods. Imad Wasim, the Islamabad captain, scored 49 and offered some fight, anchoring two quick partnerships of 36 and 38 respectively, but failed to build on his start. The last wicket stand of Junaid Nasir and Muddasir Ali added 43 quick runs before the side was dismissed for 206. Akhtar Ayub was the pick of the bowlers for Rawalpindi with his five-wicket haul, conceded 67 in 19 overs.

That Rawalpindi were able to set Islamabad an imposing target was due, in large measure, to opener Shoaib Nasir's 177 off 296 balls. Nasir had scored a two-ball duck in the first innings but made up for it in the second, adding useful runs with the middle order including a 159-run, fourth-wicket stand with Babar Naeem that steadied the innings after quick wickets. Nasir's innings, which had 27 fours and two sixes, helped Rawalpindi reach 398.

Rawalpindi's first innings was not so assured and the side were struggling at 60 for 6 before a 139-run partnership for the seventh wicket between Awais Zia (76 off 185 balls) and Zahid Mansoor (60 off 168) helped the side reach 211.

Islamabad fared poorly in their first-innings too, as only four batsmen scored in double figures. Their first innings total of 175 was propped up by Afaq Raheem's 85 off 158 balls.