Matches (10)
BPL 2023 (2)
ILT20 (1)
England Lions in Sri Lanka (1)
Ranji Trophy (4)
ZIM v WI (1)
SA Tri-Series (1)

All the FAQs about the IPL auction

A breakdown of the franchises' spending capacities, potential retention targets, and how the whole process will go down over the weekend

Arun Venugopal
How many players have entered the auction?
A total of 578 players will go under the hammer on January 27 and 28. The list includes 244 capped players (62 from India), 332 uncapped players (34 from overseas), and two players from Associate countries.
Will all the players be auctioned on the first day?
The players are divided into different sets. The auction kicks off with the 'marquee' list, where 16 players, in two batches of eight each, come up for bidding. R Ashwin, Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Mitchell Starc and Ben Stokes are among those in the first batch, while the second includes Dwayne Bravo, Shakib Al Hasan, Glenn Maxwell, Joe Root, Yuvraj Singh and Kane Williamson among others.
The marquee lot will be followed by capped and uncapped players - batsmen, allrounders, wicketkeepers, fast bowlers and spinners (in that order) - being alternated. This is the first time uncapped players have been brought forward to the opening day of the two-day process.
What is the accelerated process of bidding?
After 170 players have been presented for bidding, the "accelerated process" will enable franchises to nominate a set number of players from the remaining ones. The list has to be submitted by 10pm on the first day, and the nominated players will go up for bidding the following day.
Once these players have been presented, the franchises will be asked to submit their wishlist from the full list of 578 players. Those unsold will come up for auction after all the players have been called once. The list of unsold players, however, is drawn up subject to the franchises' request.
How much can each franchise spend?
As per the new IPL player policy, each franchise can spend a maximum of INR 80 crore (US $12.5m) on their squad salaries. The new rules also dictate that franchises spend 75% of the salary cap, which amounts to INR 60 crore (US $9.4m approx).
How much money is left with each franchise after retention?
Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab have the heaviest purse, with INR 67.5 crore (US $10.5m) left in their kitty, while Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Daredevils and Mumbai Indians have the least, with INR 47 crore (US $7.34m) remaining. Royal Challengers Bangalore have only INR 49 crore (US $7.65m) to spend. Sunrisers Hyderabad and Kolkata Knight Riders have substantially bigger cash reserves, with INR 59 crore (US $9.2m) left.
Who are the players retained?
Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja
Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah
Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan
Kolkata Knight Riders: Sunil Narine, Andre Russell
Delhi Daredevils: Rishabh Pant, Chris Morris, Shreyas Iyer
Kings XI Punjab: Axar Patel
Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner, Bhuvneshwar Kumar
Rajasthan Royals: Steven Smith
How many Right to Match (RTM) cards does each franchise have after retention?
The new player-retention rules stipulate that a team can retain a maximum of five players through a combination of pre-auction retention and RTM. A franchise can retain a maximum of three capped India players and two capped overseas players. Having each retained three players, Super Kings, Daredevils, Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers have only two RTMs remaining. The other four franchises have three RTMs, each having retained no more than two players.
Which players can teams use their RTMs on?
Having retained three capped India players each, Super Kings and Mumbai Indians, for instance, cannot use the RTM to reacquire Ashwin and Harbhajan Singh respectively. Conversely, Knight Riders, having retained two overseas capped players in Russell and Narine, cannot use their RTM on a capped foreign player, such as Chris Woakes or Shakib Al Hasan
Who are the potential RTM targets for franchises
Mumbai Indians: Mitchell McClenaghan and Krunal Pandya/Jos Buttler/Kieron Pollard
Chennai Super Kings: Dwayne Bravo/Andrew Tye and Brendon McCullum/Faf du Plessis
Delhi Daredevils: Kagiso Rabada/Quinton de Kock
Sunrisers Hyderabad: Rashid Khan and Shikhar Dhawan
Rajasthan Royals: Ajinkya Rahane
Royal Challengers Bangalore: Yuzvendra Chahal, KL Rahul/Chris Gayle
Kings XI Punjab: David Miller and Hashim Amla
Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir, Robin Uthappa/Manish Pandey and Kuldeep Yadav
Is there a stipulation on squad strength?
Each franchise needs to have a minimum of 18 players and a maximum of 25. The number of overseas players in the squad has been capped at eight.

Arun Venugopal is a correspondent at ESPNcricinfo. @scarletrun