Matches (15)
T20 World Cup (5)
IND v SA [W] (1)
T20 Blast (6)
CE Cup (3)

T20 Blast record-holder Danny Briggs joins Adelaide Strikers

The left-arm spinner is leading wicket-taker in the domestic T20 competition

Danny Briggs has enjoyed a prolific career in T20

Danny Briggs has enjoyed a prolific career in T20  •  Getty Images

Adelaide Strikers have completed their international signings for the BBL by bringing in English left-arm spinner Danny Briggs who is the leading wicket-taker in the history of the T20 Blast.
Briggs, 29, has taken 172 wickets in English domestic T20 from 152 matches for Hampshire and Sussex with an economy rate of 7.16. He played seven T20Is for England but the last of those came in 2014.
He has recently moved from Sussex to Warwickshire but built a strong association with Strikers coach Jason Gillespie at his former club.
"Briggsy is a calm head; an experienced campaigner. He can bowl in every phase of a T20 game. He's very versatile and very adaptable," Gillespie said.
"To have Briggsy to complement the leg spin of Rashid Khan, plus we've got the off-spin of Travis Head and Matt Short. We feel that Danny will add another dimension to our bowling attack should he get a surface that suits multiple spin options.
"He is a fantastic guy. He's very calm, a gun fielder but he also has that experienced head and he will crack in and do his job. He will fit in wonderfully well; the boys will enjoy his company."
Briggs joins Khan and Phil Salt, the Sussex batsman, as the Strikers' overseas players with the trio all available for the full duration of the tournament.
Current Strikers squad Danny Briggs (Eng), Travis Head, Rashid Khan (Afg), Michael Neser, Harry Nielsen, Matthew Renshaw, Phil Salt (Eng), Matt Short, Peter Siddle, Cameron Valente, Jake Weatherald, Jon Wells, Daniel Worrall