Matthew Hoggard: ultimately time was against him © Getty Images
England have named an unchanged side for the third Test against the West Indies at Old Trafford starting on Thursday.

With Matthew Hoggard still ruled out because of the adductor muscle injury suffered during the Lord's Test, Ryan Sidebottom, who took eight wickets at Headingley, retains his place in the XI.

"Despite ongoing rehabilitation and assessment. Hoggard has unfortunately failed to fully recover," David Graveney, the chairman of selectors, said. "He has worked hard to overcome the injury but ultimately time was against him. We're prepared to give him as long as he needs to ensure the injury does not become a longer-term problem. We are hopeful that with further rehabilitation he will come into calculations for the fourth Test in Durham.

"Ian Bell has made excellent progress after suffering a back spasm that saw him sit out the last four days of the second Test. Provided he gets through Warwickshire's Friends Provident Trophy match on Sunday he's expected to be fully fit for Old Trafford.

"James Anderson has not been named in the squad but will be the standby seam bowler, joining the team on Wednesday evening in case of late illness or injury. He will be available to Lancashire for their County Championship match against Durham starting on Wednesday."

Asked about the situation regarding Andrew Flintoff, Graveney said: "Andrew successfully underwent surgery on Friday and following rehabilitation and strengthening work we are hopeful he can play a part for England at some stage later in the summer. Given his latest injury setback we all feel for Andrew and look forward to him making a strong recovery. I've no doubt Andrew will draw strength from the way Michael Vaughan made a successful return to Test cricket following a lengthy period out of the game through injury."

England 1 Alastair Cook, 2 Andrew Strauss, 3 Michael Vaughan (capt), 4 Kevin Pietersen, 5 Paul Collingwood, 6 Ian Bell, 7 Matthew Prior (wk), 8 Liam Plunkett, 9 Steve Harmison, 10 Ryan Sidebottom, 11 Monty Panesar.