1 Number of India captains before Virat Kohli to make 500 or more runs in a Test series. Sunil Gavaskar did it twice: 732 runs at 91.50 against West Indies in 1978-79 and 500 at 62.50 against England in 1981-82.

2 Number of India captains to make 1000 or more Test runs in a year before Kohli. Sachin Tendulkar made 1000 runs in 1997 and Rahul Dravid scored 1095 runs in 2006.

89 Innings taken by Kohli to hit 15 Test hundreds. Among nine India batsmen to make at least as many centuries, only Gavaskar's 77 innings were fewer than Kohli's. Tendulkar also scored his 15th hundred in his 89th innings.

Fewest inns by India batsmen for 15 Test hundreds
Batsman Inns
 Sunil Gavaskar  77
 Sachin Tendulkar  89
 Virat Kohli  89
 Virender Sehwag  97
 Mohammad Azharuddin  106
 Rahul Dravid  119
 Dilip Vengsarkar  151
 Sourav Ganguly  160
 VVS Laxman  181

2011 The last time an India batsman got 1000 or more runs in a year. Dravid made 1145 at an average of 57.25. Overall, this is the 23rd instance of an India batsman getting 1000 or more runs in a year.

4 Number of India batsmen before Kohli to score 500 or more runs in a Test series more than once. Kohli had made 692 runs in Australia in 2014-15. Gavaskar, incredibly, had six such series. Gundappa Vishwanath, Mohinder Amarnath and Dravid had two such series each.

95 Runs scored by Kohli off spinners in this innings. Only three runs of those came off a false shot. Kohli has been exceptional against spinners in this series scoring 328 against them at an average of 109.33. In comparison, other batsmen from either side to have batted in the top-seven in this series collectively average 36.17 against spinners.

89 Innings taken by Kohli to complete 4000 runs in Test cricket. He is the sixth fastest India batsman after Virender Sehwag (79 innings), Gavaskar (81), Dravid (84), Tendulkar (86) and Mohammad Azharuddin (88). Overall, he is the 14th India batsman to achieve the landmark. Click here for a list of quickest batsmen to 4000 Test runs.

2002 The last time before M Vijay an India opener got a Test hundred at the Wankhede Stadium. Virender Sehwag had made 147 in the first innings against West Indies in 2002. Overall, Vijay's 136 was just the seventh hundred by an India opener in 25 Tests at this venue. The other five hundreds were all by Gavaskar.

Shiva Jayaraman is a senior stats analyst at ESPNcricinfo.com. @shiva_cricinfo