Shenwari on his backside, Stanikzai off his feet

Plays of the day from the Group 1 clash between Afghanistan and Sri Lanka

Samiullah Shenwari loses his footing after hitting a four, Afghanistan v Sri Lanka, World T20 2016, Group 1, Kolkata

Samiullah Shenwari finished on his backside, but got four runs for his efforts  •  International Cricket Council

The falling reverse-slap
Samiullah Shenwari had just drilled the previous ball back down the ground for four, and he probably expected Thisara Perera to shorten his length a bit. He knew third man was inside the circle, and read the situation perfectly well. Down came the back-of-a-length delivery outside off, and Shenwari was quickly in position to play a reverse-swat into the gap to the left of the fielder. It was cleverly done, but by no means elegantly, and Shenwari lost balance and fell onto his backside. It's debatable whether the stroke made any impression on old-timers sighing wistfully about Rohan Kanhai's falling sweep.
The one-legged hoick
Asghar Stanikzai was not to be outdone in the off-balance hitting stakes. He was using the depth of the crease to good effect, and had hit an attempted wide yorker from Nuwan Kulasekara over the covers in the 17th over. Now, in the 19th over, Perera looked for a another wide yorker. Stanikzai moved his right foot way back into his crease, leaned his upper body back, and created enough swinging room to launch the ball high over long-on. The force of the shot left him with both feet off the ground at impact, and he completed it with a hop on one leg.
The flashing-bail, fielding-team advantage
In the past, while making tight run-out decisions, third umpires had to rely exclusively on their own vision to rule whether a bail was completely out of its groove. Often, they would give the batsman the benefit of the doubt unless they had the clearest possible visual evidence. At the World T20, lights go off in the bails when they are completely out of their groove.
When Perera called Tillakaratne Dilshan through for a leg-bye from the non-striker's end, Mohammad Shahzad looked slow when he scampered back to field the ball. He turned around momentarily as he did so, to see where the batsmen were. He took another split second to take off his right glove before rifling in a direct hit at the striker's end. In the pre-zing-bail era, all of these split seconds might have cost Afghanistan a run out. But now, the bails lit up with Perera's bat on the line, even though it was impossible to tell otherwise if they were out of their groove or not.
The deflection
When a non-striker is run out by a deflected straight drive, the bowler usually has a sheepish grin on his face, for having got an inadvertent fingertip to the ball. When Dilshan drilled the ball back down the ground off Mohammad Nabi's bowling, however, the bowler seemed to know exactly where the ball was heading - between the stumps and the non-striker, down towards long-on. Showing spectacular spatial awareness, Nabi reached out, angled his palm expertly, and quite deliberately flicked the ball onto the stumps to find Chamara Kapugedera out of his crease.

Karthik Krishnaswamy is a senior sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo