1895
37,000
170.6m long, 149.9m wide
Yes
Stanley Street End, Vulture Street End
Queensland
Australian Rules Football (Brisbane Lions), Rugby Union, Athletics, Baseball, Cycling, Greyhound Racing, Pony Racing, Rugby League, Soccer
Kevin Mitchell jnr
01:32, Mon Oct 03, 2022 (UTC +1000)
Brisbane Cricket Ground
 

Records and statistics

Australia v South Africa - Nov 27-Dec 3, 1931 Scorecard
Australia v England - Dec 8-11, 2021 Scorecard
Test records | Results | High totals | High scores | Most runs | Best bowling | Most wickets | Partnerships | Statsguru
England v West Indies - Dec 23, 1979 Scorecard
Australia v England - Jan 19, 2018 Scorecard
ODI records | Results | High totals | High scores | Most runs | Best bowling | Most wickets | Partnerships | Statsguru
Australia v South Africa - Jan 9, 2006 Scorecard
Australia v Sri Lanka - Oct 30, 2019 Scorecard
T20I records | Results | High totals | High scores | Most runs | Best bowling | Most wickets | Partnerships | Statsguru
Records index

Profile

Situated in the Brisbane suburb of Woolloongabba - it's shortened to the Gabba - the ground has gone through some drastic redevelopment during the last decade. The grassy banks, Moreton Bay figs and dogtrack have been replaced with modern, concrete stands, which may have removed some charm, but mean the ground offers superb facilities for the players and public. However, the most famous moment on the ground is one firmly from the past. The image of the deciding run-out in the tied Test of 1960-61, between Australia and West Indies, is one of the best known cricketing images of all time. In more recent times it has become a favourite haunt of Shane Warne, with the extra bounce from the often excellent wickets helping his legspin. In early 2006 a record crowd of 38,894 watched the first Twenty20 international in the country. This mark was promptly beaten six days later when Australia played South Africa in a full ODI.
Andrew McGlashan January 2006

Fixtures

2022
Fri Oct 7 (20 ovs)          
18:10 local | 08:10 GMT
04:10 EDT | 03:10 CDT | 01:10 PDT
2nd T20I - Australia v West Indies
Mon Oct 17 (20 ovs)
13:00 local | 03:00 GMT
23:00 EDT | 22:00 CDT | 20:00 PDT
Australia v India
Mon Oct 17 (20 ovs)          
18:00 local | 08:00 GMT
04:00 EDT | 03:00 CDT | 01:00 PDT
England v Pakistan
Wed Oct 19 (20 ovs)
13:00 local | 03:00 GMT
23:00 EDT | 22:00 CDT | 20:00 PDT
Afghanistan v Pakistan
Wed Oct 19 (20 ovs)          
18:00 local | 08:00 GMT
04:00 EDT | 03:00 CDT | 01:00 PDT
India v New Zealand
Sun Oct 30 (20 ovs)
13:00 local | 03:00 GMT
23:00 EDT | 22:00 CDT | 20:00 PDT
ICC Men's T20 World Cup
28th Match, Group 2 - Bangladesh v TBC
Mon Oct 31 (20 ovs)          
18:00 local | 08:00 GMT
04:00 EDT | 03:00 CDT | 01:00 PDT
ICC Men's T20 World Cup
31st Match, Group 1 - Australia v TBC
Tue Nov 1 (20 ovs)
14:00 local | 04:00 GMT
00:00 EDT | 23:00 CDT | 21:00 PDT
ICC Men's T20 World Cup
32nd Match, Group 1 - Afghanistan v TBC
Tue Nov 1 (20 ovs)          
18:00 local | 08:00 GMT
04:00 EDT | 03:00 CDT | 01:00 PDT
ICC Men's T20 World Cup
33rd Match, Group 1 - England v New Zealand
Thu Dec 1 - Sun Dec 4
10:00 local | 00:00 GMT
19:00 EST | 18:00 CST | 16:00 PST
Sheffield Shield
Round 6 - Queensland v Western Australia
Sat Dec 17 - Wed Dec 21
ICC World Test Championship
1st Test - Australia v South Africa
Fri Dec 23 (20 ovs)          
18:00 local | 08:00 GMT
03:00 EST | 02:00 CST | 00:00 PST
Big Bash League
Brisbane Heat v Adelaide Strikers
2023
Sun Jan 1 (20 ovs)          
18:15 local | 08:15 GMT
03:15 EST | 02:15 CST | 00:15 PST
Big Bash League
Brisbane Heat v Sydney Sixers
Wed Jan 11 (20 ovs)          
18:40 local | 08:40 GMT
03:40 EST | 02:40 CST | 00:40 PST
Big Bash League
Brisbane Heat v Perth Scorchers
Fri Jan 20 (20 ovs)          
19:00 local | 09:00 GMT
04:00 EST | 03:00 CST | 01:00 PST
Big Bash League
Brisbane Heat v Hobart Hurricanes
Sun Jan 22 (20 ovs)          
12:40 local | 02:40 GMT
21:40 EST | 20:40 CST | 18:40 PST
Big Bash League
Brisbane Heat v Melbourne Stars
Tue Feb 21 - Fri Feb 24
10:00 local | 00:00 GMT
19:00 EST | 18:00 CST | 16:00 PST
Sheffield Shield
Round 8 - Queensland v New South Wales
Sun Feb 26 (50 ovs)          
13:05 local | 03:05 GMT
22:05 EST | 21:05 CST | 19:05 PST
The Marsh Cup
Queensland v New South Wales
Thu Mar 2 - Sun Mar 5
10:00 local | 00:00 GMT
19:00 EST | 18:00 CST | 16:00 PST
Sheffield Shield
Round 9 - Queensland v South Australia
Day and Night - Day and Night International Matches - International Matches Live - Covered by Cricinfo
No responsibility is taken by Cricinfo for the accuracy of this information.

Latest Photos

A tropical storm swept in at the Gabba, Australia vs England, The Ashes, 1st Test, Day 1, Brisbane, December 8, 2021
A tropical storm swept in at the Gabba
© AFP/Getty Images
The covers were brought on during the tea interval, Australia vs England, The Ashes, 1st Test, Day 1, The Gabba, Brisbane, December 8, 2021
The covers were brought on during the tea interval
© CA/Cricket Australia/Getty Images
Grey clouds hover close to the Gabba around tea time, Australia vs India, 4th Test, Brisbane, 2nd day, January 16, 2021
Grey clouds hover close to the Gabba around tea time
© Cricket Australia via Getty Images
Fireworks at the game, Brisbane Heat v Perth Scorchers, BBL 2018-19, Brisbane, February 1, 2019
Fireworks at the game
© CA/Cricket Australia/Getty Images
 
View the full index of related photos »