Asia Cup 2010 May 6, 2010

Asia Cup 2010 to be held in Dambulla

Cricinfo staff

The 2010 Asia Cup will be held in Dambulla, Sri Lanka, between June 15 and 24, the Asian Cricket Council has announced. The tournament comprises India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and hosts Sri Lanka.

The tournament gets underway with Sri Lanka taking on Pakistan. Each team plays the other once in a league format after which the top two sides meet in a final. There is also a provision for three reserve days during the league phase, and one for the final. All matches are day-night fixtures.

"Funds raised from this tournament will be utilised to support and develop the game in the Asia region," ACC chief executive Syed Ashraful Haq said in Colombo. "We are already seeing good progress in Afghanistan and Nepal."

Sri Lanka are the current holders of the Asia Cup, having beaten India by 100 runs in the final of the 2008 tournament in Karachi.


June 15: Sri Lanka vs Pakistan
June 16: India vs Bangladesh
June 17: Reserve day
June 18: Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh
June 19: Pakistan vs India
June 20: Reserve day
June 21: Pakistan vs Bangladesh
June 22: India vs Sri Lanka
June 23: Reserve day
June 24: Final
June 25: Reserve day